Has anyone gotten WiFi to work?

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by zushiba, Jun 30, 2007.

  1. zushiba macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2007
    #1
    My iPhone is acting a little strange, It seems to connect to my router however I cannot seem to load any webpage.

    I CAN check my gmail perfectly :confused:

    So I checked my router log and I found

    So other than whatever, 82.226.189.106 might be. The iPhone (192.168.2.5) is being blocked as a DoS attack???

    Interesting, so I turned the Firewall off and it has so far made no difference, trying to connect to any website eventually yields "Safari can't open the page because it can't find the server."
    after about a minute or 2 it will eventually tell me that it cannot connect to the edge network either.
    I have full bars on my signal strength indicator and can find no other problems :(


    EDIT: Set it as Virtual DMZ Host, no go :(
     
  2. infraorang3 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    #2
    Weird, I had trouble getting on my friends wifi, but no problems with mine. I think it has to do with the router.
     
  3. killerrobot macrumors 68020

    killerrobot

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #3
    Other forums have said the encryption on the network is blocking the connection (one said WPA worked fine for him?). So you might want to try taking off WEP or WPA2 for a second (I advise turning it back on immediately after this experiment :) ) and see if that's the problem.
     
  4. seamuskrat macrumors 6502a

    seamuskrat

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2003
    Location:
    New Jersey USA
    #4
    No Wifi Here

    Same issue, I try to join my WEP secure WiFi to no avail. Even turned off all security and got nada.This sucks.
     
  5. Dermot81 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2007
    #5
    no problem connecting through wep on my router. In fact I'm typing from my iPhone right now
     
  6. ichii macrumors 6502

    ichii

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    #6
    I have no problem with my Linksys wireless router. Try resetting or power cycle your router.
     
  7. offcamber macrumors 6502

    offcamber

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Location:
    USA
    #7
    I have the same issue. Tried 3 different levels of WiFi security (WEP, WPA ect...) and could not connect. Turned off all security and still could not connect. My laptop will connect without a problem. The phone will see the network at full signal but will never connect to any servers. It will connect with EDGE.
    I'll be heading to an AT&T store this morning (if open) to see if they can get the iPhone to surf on their network. They did not have a demo phone yesterday so I doubt they have even used one after the mob bought them all Friday.
     
  8. tttexxan macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    #8
    typing on mine as well now tjrough wep without issues
     
  9. rclay24 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    #9
    Same problem

    Lots of posts appearing at apple.com on this. Hoped for a solution here. Odd thing. If I connect via Edge to a website with wifi disabled, I can then go back to that particular website via wifi, but no others. Google maps won't work at all on wifi, nor did weather. Connected to each with edge, then turned wifi back on. Now I can go to the specific maps I connected to on edge, but no others.
    Same with Safari, Go to amazon on edge, turn wifi back on, now I can connect to Amazon, try to connect deeper to a specific book, no go on wifi>Can't find the server.
    I have a belkin router, no security as I live far from my neighbors. I checked my iPhone's IP address, and moved it on the router to the DMZ outside the firewall. Still doesn't work unless I connect to that particular page with EDGE first.
    This is really strange.
     
  10. JustinP81 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    Location:
    Celebration, FL
    #10
    The only problem I had was that I couldn't remember my password to the router!

    (I eventually remembered it)
     
  11. azhagan macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    #11
    Hm... I am not having any problems like others have suggested with WiFi... Only problem I was having is with the sound of the keyboard lagging behind my typing.
     
  12. WRXHokie macrumors regular

    WRXHokie

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2005
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #12
    Works fine for me... typed my WEP password in and i was off and surfing in no time.
     
  13. elistan macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Location:
    Denver/Boulder, CO
    #13
    My experience:

    I have a brand-new Apple Airport Express that I got at the same time I got the iPhone. I know it's working fine because two laptops are working off the wifi just fine.

    1) Often the iPhone won't display any wifi networks at all - the busy icon simply spins and spins.
    2) When it does, my new network is displayed but often with only one of the signal strength bars. The Airport is two rooms away - the laptops show full signal strength.
    3) I can connect just fine - put in my password and a checkmark appears next to the network.
    4) However when I attempt to connect to anything while in wifi mode with Safari I get the "can't find the server" message.
    5) I was able to use wifi ONCE while I was sitting two feet from my new Airport. But after about 10 minutes of browsing, I started getting the "can't find server" message again and haven't been able to browse with wifi since. Even sitting two feet from the base I couldn't get my Airport (or any other network) to show up in the list.
    6) I did tests using the base's default WPA2, WEP, and no security at all - not difference.

    Seems the iPhone has problems in general communicating with wifi.
     
  14. Twinkie macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2005
    Location:
    Milford, MI
    #14
    Are you using a Belkin Pre-N router, by chance?

    They tend to go nuts about DoS attacks at the slightest little thing. I had one for about an hour before I returned it, after it was insisting that my VoIP box was trying to perform a DoS attack.

    DMZ'ing it didn't work, and Belkin acknowledged that it was a problem with the firmware that was being fixed "soon".
     
  15. seamuskrat macrumors 6502a

    seamuskrat

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2003
    Location:
    New Jersey USA
    #15
    I have Verizon with fios and the ActionTec router and it is doa with WEP.

    I suspect these WiFi issues are router related. I have no issues with my other wireless devices, but it seems iPhone is more sensitive to certain wireless configs.

    I still cannot get it to work with my ActionTec wireless with Fios.

    Has anyone else connected with Fios and the Actiontec?
     
  16. happyduck42 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Location:
    Hanover Park, IL
    #16
    I initially had problems, my router was set to WPA/WPA2 (dynamically choose one) after setting it to WPA2 I had no problems.
     
  17. Briellz macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    #17
    i had to tweek some settings in my router.... it works now.... :D
     
  18. JNB macrumors 604

    JNB

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Location:
    In a Hell predominately of my own making
    #18
    Odd. I have the Belkin pre-N, and had no problems (other than mistyping my password about four times. Predictive text - hah! :p )

    MY biggest problem at the router end (and it would be any router) is that my phones are 2.4 GHz, too. Every time a call comes, there goes my wireless! Solution? Visit the Uniden Online Store, a refurb TRU9485 (5.8 GHz digital), 2 handsets, $59.99! Needed new phones, anyway...
     
  19. iSaint macrumors 603

    iSaint

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Location:
    South Mississippi y'all, near the water!
    #19
    I just logged in to my home wifi through its WAP, no problems!
     
  20. OT2000 macrumors regular

    OT2000

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    Location:
    California
    #20
    No problems here at home, but I did have a problem getting the hot spot at a restaurant to work.
     
  21. zushiba thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2007
    #21
    It is indeed a Belkin Pre-N Router. Interesting to note, it will not allow my laptop to connect with any sort of security protocols enabled.
     
  22. JonboyDC macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    #22
    I have an Airport router set to WEP security. When I first tried to access the wifi, it rejected my password a bunch of times. It wasn't until I thought to try the hex key that it worked.
     
  23. Twinkie macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2005
    Location:
    Milford, MI
    #23
    Same here. It wouldn't talk to my MBP, and it saw VoIP traffic as a DoS.

    My solution was to return it, buy a Buffalo Airstation, and install DD-WRT on it.
     
  24. iSavant macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2007
    Location:
    Colorado
    #24
    No problems with my Airport using WEP... all good
     
  25. synth3tik macrumors 68040

    synth3tik

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    #25
    Mine works flawlessly on my wi-fi as well as the shop down the streets wi-fi. I think it might be a setting in your router as the iPhone wi-fi is pretty straight forward.
     

Share This Page