Has anyone had problems pairing a 1TB time capsule with an Airport-Express?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by team 79 krunch, Jul 23, 2008.

  1. team 79 krunch macrumors member

    team 79 krunch

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    #1
    I have read somewhere that some people have had problems Pairing a Time capsule and an Airport-Express. I was wandering if anyone has this problem? And if so is there a fix?
     
  2. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #2
    What do you mean pairing?

    If you mean to connect, well you need to set one as bridge mode and the other as router--well the one connected to the Internet as the router.
     
  3. team 79 krunch thread starter macrumors member

    team 79 krunch

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    #3
    What I mean is having the Time Capsule plugged into the Cable Modem and using the Airport-Extreme to extend the Range and plug a printer in. ( My Modem is in the front hall, not the ideal place for a printer )
     
  4. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #4
    Okay so you set up the Time Capsule as a router and create a network; make sure you check "Allow this network to be extended". On you Airport Extreme/Express, set up wireless as "Extended a network" and put the the settings. Then in Internet make sure the bottom says bridge mode.

    Okay I don't have a Time Capsule (because it's slow), but I have an Airport Extreme and a Airport Express set up so my Extreme is connected to my wired network and creates a network like this:
    [​IMG]

    Then my Express extended it like this:
    [​IMG]

    I don't have a printer connected since my printers are all have built in networking; I have Airtunes on the Express and an Airdisk on the Extreme.
     
  5. Eric. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    #5
    Sorry for being off topic, but what is slow about the Time Capsule?
     
  6. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #6
    Let's put this way: my 300GB Time Machine back up takes 3 hours on my FW800 drive; it takes 10 days on the Time Capsule; I'm not waiting 10 days.
     
  7. Eric. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    #7
    That long to write 300GB? Wow. Is it the same deal with an AEBS and attached drive?
     
  8. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #8
    No it's a bit faster, but still quite slow. I think it's the circuitry that's slowing the TC not the drive.
     

Share This Page