Has anyone installed CS3 on an Air yet?

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by navanod, Feb 23, 2008.

  1. navanod macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    #1
    I would like to know how the performance is on it. I use Illustrator and Indesign for some light design work and I would like to know how close the performance is to the MacBook 2Ghz? If it's close in performance I'll take the plunge. I would get the 1.8ghz with 80GB hard drive. I think I would upgrade to SSD when the capacity is higher and the prices go down. I just can't justify $1k for less storage space... no matter how fast it is.
     
  2. shoulin333 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Location:
    California
    #2
    I will be installing CS3 today,, just for when i am out on the road and a client has to have something on a website edited asap..

    I'm sure it will run fine, but im only installing Photo shop, illustrator, and Dreamweaver... wont be doing any flash or anything on the road.


    i will post later about how it all runs.
     
  3. YELLOWSOUL macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    #3
    i swear i was just coming over here to post the exact same thing...:eek:

    but in all seriousness I am a designer as well and I was wondering how man designers out there uses the air...I am coming from a macbook pro late 0six model before so I don't expect the same productivity but as long as it as fast as a macbook i think i can take the plunge as well.
     
  4. miguel mouse! macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    #4
    i'm curious as well, as i am currently running CS3 on my 12" powerbook G4. so, in theory the MBA should run CS3 better than my 1.33ghz 60gb powerbook, right?
     
  5. YELLOWSOUL macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    #5
    thats seems true
     
  6. Phil A. Moderator

    Phil A.

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    Location:
    Shropshire, UK
    #6
    Installed it on my 1.8SSD and it works great. I don't do anything massively heavy on it (retouching pictures from my DSLR really), but for that it is absolutely fine
     
  7. shoulin333 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Location:
    California
    #7
    works perfect on mine (1.6/80)


    takes a little bit longer than my old MBP to load up... few seconds.. but once it is up it is prety much the same.
     
  8. navanod thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    #8
    Good to hear... I'm about to order!
     
  9. navanod thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    #9
    Sounds good! Thanks for the reply!:D
     
  10. EvryDayImShufln macrumors 65816

    EvryDayImShufln

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    #10
    ...it does make the fans spin up after some time though.. hardcore.
     
  11. YELLOWSOUL macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    #11
    ooo that kinda reminds me of the old ibook g4 i used to own. whenever i would have CS running for bout a hour the fans would start going and it would get hotter. does that sound familiar to current air owners, because the im basing the purchase on that...
     
  12. jman2003 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2007
    #12
    installed it on my 1.6/80 and is really fast! (well, as fast as almost every computer)
     
  13. YELLOWSOUL macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    #13
    great if new mbps don't launch tues ill be getting an air
     
  14. navanod thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    #14
    Damn... I put my order in for a CTO Air (1.8/80GBHD) thinking I could cancel the order due to the long lead times (5-7 days for shipping!) if a new MBP was released. Well I just got confirmation that my Air just shipped last night!!! That 5-7 days turned to 1.5 days!!! Now I can't cancel my order (due to CTO) if they debut a redesigned MacBook Pro:eek: So what are the chances it's just an update and not a complete redesign? And do I have any other options other than selling it on eBay? I might just keep it... because I really want the form factor!!! We'll see tomorrow!
     
  15. thehuhman macrumors member

    thehuhman

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Location:
    NC
    #15
    Installed it on my 1.6/80 and it performs just fine. Installed Illustrator, InDesign, PhotoShop and Dreamweaver. I've used them all with relatively good results. Of course, nothing beats my MacPro (at the office) with these apps. But when I am on the road, and I need to do some site maintenance or some basic image manipulation, my MBA always comes through.:)
     
  16. Mikebuzzsaw macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #16
    Works fine! After a while of use, the fans kick in...
     
  17. wacso macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    #17
    works great

    i also have a macbook pro (1st version) and i am very pleased with the performance of illustrator on the air. i expected to be letdown but i am very pleased.
     
  18. BWhaler macrumors 68020

    BWhaler

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    #18
    I have installed it, and for my basic needs, it works very well.
     
  19. CaptainCannabis macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    #19
    It runs PERFECT on my 1.8/64SSD!
    I had a PB17" 1.67ghz 1GBRAM ATI MOBILITY RADEON 9700 before, and CS3 is muuuuuuch smoother and faster on my MBA.

    (and it loads in like 4-5 secs :) )
     
  20. hotsauce macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2005
    #20
    No Problem on my 1.6/80. Just as fast as my MBP Rev. A.
     
  21. Nika3 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    #21
    I have been testing Photoshop CS3 this week and I am pleasantly surprised in how well the Air is preforming. It should be said that I work mainly with web files so the size of my work files is small (compared with print). There has been some lag when working with multiple layer filters (shadows on 6 layers, 20 layers total), but nothing that is a deal breaker. Especially considering the physical pros of this machine.

    Also, I tested start up times (for CS3 Photoshop, Illustrator and Flash) between my work Dual G5 1.25 tower and my 1.6/80 Air. The G5 beat the Air with opening CS3 Photoshop, Illustrator and Photoshop, but when I restart the programs the Air beats the G5. I believe it might have to do with the Air having Leopard and the G5 having Tiger.

    For all the graphic designers out there I will post my thoughts on how the Air performed with Illustrator and Flash.
     
  22. Clix Pix macrumors demi-goddess

    Clix Pix

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2005
    Location:
    8 miles from the Apple Store at Tysons (VA)
    #22
    How about Aperture 2.0 on the MBA?

    Has anyone tried that? I keep wavering back-and-forth as to whether or not I should install Aperture 2.0 on my MBA (1.8 GHz, 64 GB SSD).....

    I do have CS3, also, but am not planning to put that on the MBA. It's happy on the Mac Pro!
     
  23. ayeying macrumors 601

    ayeying

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Location:
    Yay Area, CA
    #23
    I run CS3 and Aperture on my Air. No major slow downs from what I've seen. Aperture might lag with larger RAW files but with normal JPG from my digi. camera, it runs fine.
     
  24. ahaxton macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    #24
    CS3 is running great on my AIR. Quite awesome for such a tiny little portable machine. I'm not a heavy user, but speeds have been great, no rough spots.
     
  25. Clix Pix macrumors demi-goddess

    Clix Pix

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2005
    Location:
    8 miles from the Apple Store at Tysons (VA)
    #25
    I shoot primarily in RAW and when I travel, which is when the MBA will really shine, I'll be shooting extensively and then uploading files from many CF cards to the computer so that I can then clear the CF card memory and reuse the card. I'm a little concerned about HD space,which of course is already very limited on the MBA. Most of the time I would not necessarily be doing any extensive post-processing while traveling but there might be the occasional situation where I'd want to do a few images; that's when it would be nice to have Aperture on there.
     

Share This Page