Has anyone installed Kingston ValueRam on their MBP?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by hdsalinas, Apr 21, 2007.

  1. hdsalinas macrumors 6502

    hdsalinas

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Location:
    San Pedro Sula, Honduras
    #1
  2. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #2
    First off, Amazon will ship this part within USA only.

    Second, Kingston themselves do not guarantee compatibility with Mac on this RAM. Some people have reported success, some have reported trouble

    Third, why bother, when guaranteed Mac compatible RAM is available for US$54 - $69 from Data Memory Systems, OWC and Crucial?

    Thanks
    Trevor
    CanadaRAM.com
     
  3. quigleybc macrumors 68030

    quigleybc

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Location:
    Beautiful Vancouver British Columbia, Canada
    #3
    Kingston Value Ram caused constant kernal panics in my PowerMac G5. Once I ditched that RAM everything was smooth again.

    I don't recommend it...
     
  4. joshwest macrumors 65816

    joshwest

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    #4
    i did into my macbook and it works fine
     
  5. hdsalinas thread starter macrumors 6502

    hdsalinas

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Location:
    San Pedro Sula, Honduras
    #5
    Oh, I have no problems purchasing from Amazon. I have sort of a PO Box in Miami where all of the packages received are then sent to me in like lhree days or so. In fact I got my MBP from amazon and had no problems.

    About the ram, I will just get the one from crucial that is just $10 more and save all the troubles.

    thanks
     
  6. hdsalinas thread starter macrumors 6502

    hdsalinas

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Location:
    San Pedro Sula, Honduras
    #6
    Oh, I have no problems purchasing from Amazon. I have sort of a PO Box in Miami where all of the packages received are then sent to me in like lhree days or so. In fact I got my MBP from amazon and had no problems.

    About the ram, I will just get the one from crucial that is just $10 more and save all the troubles.

    thanks
     
  7. orangemacapple macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2006
    Location:
    Raleigh
    #7
    Kingston is one of the better brand names. I have used it for years.
    I did have one stick go bad after 2 years on an old emac but they replaced it very quickly. It has lifetime warranty.

    I just put 2 sticks of that same ram in my mb 2 weeks ago. works great.
    I bought it from FRY's for $50. I think they ;have it onsale now for $40. FREE shipping.
     
  8. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #8
    If you choose the MacBook (rather than the MacBook Pro) at the Crucial store (use the link from the top of this page so MacRumors gets a tiny commission), then you will get the same piece of Crucial RAM for US$53.99 because it is on sale right now.

    OrangMcA: Yes agreed Kingston is a good brand, Their Apple specific KTA- series is very reliable. The debate is whether their ValueRAM generic series is a good bet for the Mac. For some Macs yes, for some, no.
    And this changes over time, because Kingston can change the build of the KVR- RAM at any time without notice.
     

Share This Page