Has anyone tried out WeatherIcon?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by Tokiopop, Jan 27, 2009.

  1. Tokiopop macrumors 68000

    Tokiopop

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    Location:
    West Yorkshire, UK
    #1
    Just looked in cydia, and ModMyi have given us WeatherIcon! It's supposed to change your Weather App icon to the live weather, so I'm going to download and install it in a few minutes, to see what it's like :)
     
  2. Acronym macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    #3
    i like this version better :D

    [​IMG]
     
  3. Tokiopop thread starter macrumors 68000

    Tokiopop

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    Location:
    West Yorkshire, UK
    #4
    Just to say, I've donwloaded it and I'm using it now. It's great! :D This is what the app should have been like to begin with :)

    What's the name of those widgets at the side? Are they available in Cydia? I don't usually use any Windows themes, but those at the side are quite nice :D
     
  4. benflick macrumors 68020

    benflick

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    #5
    I don't like it, you can still see the 73 underneath the current temperature
    (22) And it's snowing and there is 100% cloudcover where I am and it still shows the sun.:rolleyes:
     
  5. Knowlege Bomb macrumors 601

    Knowlege Bomb

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Location:
    Madison, WI
    #6
    So this tweak requires that you SSH and modify the file?
     
  6. Tokiopop thread starter macrumors 68000

    Tokiopop

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    Location:
    West Yorkshire, UK
    #7
    No SSHing at all :)

    Have you got 1.5.3? And you need to check both Weather Icon and Weather Icon Background in WinterBoard, or you see an image underneath.
     
  7. Ashyukun macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    #8
    Like the moving clock mod, you have to go in and enable the two themes that this installs in WinterBoard...

    I'm loving this myself- I wholly agree that this is what the app should have been from the get-go.
     
  8. spamdumpster macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    #9
    You're doing something wrong. Did you activate the theme in Winterboard?
     
  9. Acronym macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    #10
    download Doreens windows Vista Bliss weather mod i custom made the sms and clock the ones provided look like regular white clocks i like the neon one

    also the dock was made by me so that i could have a 5 dock with her theme

    and i uploaded all the custom side bar apps that i have made so far you can rename them to your needs
     

    Attached Files:

  10. mdwsta4 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2007
    #11
    i like it, but when not using the square background it moves the temp to the bottom of the sun. since the sun is yellow and the text is white it's nearly impossible to read it.
    why isn't the temp below the sun like when you're using the background?
     
  11. benflick macrumors 68020

    benflick

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio
  12. reubs macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    #13
    I've got Winterboard installed, and I've got Weathericon installed, but I can't seem to see WeatherIcon in Winterboard. Will this only work if the theme has LiveWeather activated? I noticed some problems earlier tonight when I checked my touch, and I saw that weather was still showing with a sun!

    Thanks for any info!
     
  13. SFStateStudent macrumors 604

    SFStateStudent

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Location:
    San Francisco California, USA
    #14
    My Weather Icon seems to be running rather well. Accurate and without issue at this time. I'm wondering if it is set for the 1st weather pane in the weather panes? I tried moving around the different panes with regards to order and when I switched Kauai, HI with San Francisco, you could see the definite switch in temperature, Kauai = 69ºF and SF = 48ºF... :eek:
     
  14. Tokiopop thread starter macrumors 68000

    Tokiopop

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    Location:
    West Yorkshire, UK
    #15
    Yeah, I think it is set to tell the current weather on the first panel in your Weather app.
     

Share This Page