Has anyone tried the jailbreak on the 3.1 beta?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by mmoran27, Jul 6, 2009.

  1. mmoran27 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
  2. Kahnyl macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    #2
    Put the phone into DFU, restore to 3.0, get error 1015, and then run PurpleRa1n. Pretty easy.

    I set it up as a new phone so I don't know if it's possible to restore from backup.
     
  3. Ishimaru macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #3
    It does not work. It puts your phone into the pink recovery screen and will not get out of it.
     
  4. Kahnyl macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    #4
    I didn't even see the pink screen at all during the process. If it was there it wasn't there for long.
     
  5. mavis macrumors 68040

    mavis

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #5
    Wirelessly posted (iPhone 3GS (White, 32GB): Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 3_0 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/528.18 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0 Mobile/7A341 Safari/528.16)

    The pink recovery screen is if you try purplera1n on 3.1b ... ;)

    Easy enough to downgrade to 3.0 and get past that 1015, though.
     
  6. mmoran27 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    #6
    Apple says you cant downgrade.

    Is this correct?

    Also because the baseband got bumped, the jailbreak will not work, right?
     
  7. Kahnyl macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    #7
    It works fine. The 1015 error is because of the baseband. Once you move on past that, it's fine.
     
  8. mmoran27 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    #8
    How do you get past that error?

    Is it just a matter of powering off or something?
     
  9. Mystikal macrumors 68020

    Mystikal

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Location:
    Irvine, CA
    #9
    So youre saying 3.1 can be jailbroken with redsn0w .8?
     
  10. Kahnyl macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    #10
    I used PurpleRa1n.

    When you get the error close iTunes, open PurpleRa1n and hit Let it Rain or whatever the button is. Minutes later my phone rebooted and gave me a 'connect to iTunes' screen. When I did, it activated and was on 3.0. Then run Freeze on the phone itself and Cydia is installed.
     
  11. WorldIRC macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2005
    #11
    redsn0w does not work with 3.1 yet...simply does not recognize the ipsw file!
     

Share This Page