Has anyone upgraded from 4gb to 6gb ram?

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by auhlixer, May 13, 2009.

  1. auhlixer macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    #1
    I have a 2.4ghz MacBook that I run Fusion on for AutoCad and on the OS X side of this gets bogged down.

    Also know that having a 2gb/4gb combo will disable dual channel so those who have upgraded to 6gb have you seen a improvement and is it worth it?

    Currently running Windoze 7 Ultimate 64bit for AutoCad 2010 64bit w/ 1gb ram allocated for it in VMWare w/ 3D turned off. This leaves me 3gb for OS X but i have to have Mail, RSS Reader and iTunes turned off.

    Any suggestions?
     
  2. Mpulsive81 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    Location:
    McKinney, TX
    #2
    I'd say for your application, 6gb would be beneficial. The benefit of running dual channel is trumped if you're hitting swap files because you've got so much going on.

    Here's a good read on running 6gb:

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=607076

    If you're considering going 6gb, I have a stick of 4gb pc2-5300 667MHz up for sale in the marketplace. I upgraded mine from 4gb to 6gb, which is perfect. Before the upgrade, I was really getting close to my max (running VM, mail, safari, adium, & iTunes) but now I have more breathing room and things run more efficiently. Plus my fan doesn't come on nearly as much, which is an added bonus to my battery life :)
     
  3. Craiger macrumors 6502a

    Craiger

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    #3
    How does memory affect the fan speed that much?
     
  4. Mpulsive81 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    Location:
    McKinney, TX
    #4
    I'm guessing it's because my system isn't having to work as hard juggling everything when I'm running a lot of applications at the same time (since all my memory isn't tied up anymore). You can never have too much memory!
     

Share This Page