Has anyone used an iPhone 5 nano-sim in an Android?

Discussion in 'Alternatives to iOS and iOS Devices' started by sman789, Dec 28, 2012.

  1. sman789 Customer Support

    sman789

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    #1
    And most importantly, does it utilize LTE if the phone supports it? I have an iPhone unlimited data plan on at&t back from the first generation. Now I have my iPhone 4 micro-sim in my Gnexus even though it calls for a standard sim size. I would think android phones that have a tray rather than a slot, say the Nexus 4(tray) and Note II (slot) would be a factor. A tray would have a smaller nano-sim bouncing around but the slot keeps pressure on the card.
    It's nice to the flexibility having one card that works in all new phones.
     
  2. Jibbajabba macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2011
    #2
    Not sure about the US but I am using a I5 nanosim in an adapter in a S3 just fine.

    As for connectivity - we don't have LTE but with my current iPhone plan I am only getting 3G funnily enough but HSPA+ on my S3 ...
     
  3. tbayrgs macrumors 603

    tbayrgs

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2009
    #3
    I am using my iPhone 5's nanosim in my Nexus 4 with an Noosy adapter with no issues--just swap the nanosim as needed. And even though the Nexus 4 doesn't support AT&T LTE, it wasn't necessary to contact them to change my data plan as many are reporting, though I did have to manual change the APN to achieve optimal data speeds.
     
  4. daveathall macrumors 68000

    daveathall

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Location:
    North Yorkshire
    #4
    I'm using my ex iPhone 5 nano sim with an adaptor in my S3, works perfectly. We don't have LTE here but it should work fine.
     
  5. cheezeit macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    #5
    Everything will work fine just be careful with adapters and ripping out the sim pins
     
  6. bembol macrumors 65816

    bembol

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2006
    #6
    I have Noosy adapter, no issues when I used on my Note 2.

    I have to say it, there's no need for it especially when Super Phones are getting bigger.
     
  7. ichii, Dec 28, 2012
    Last edited: Dec 28, 2012

    ichii macrumors 6502a

    ichii

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    #7
    Just got a nokia lumia 920, had a iPhone 4s, i don't have any LTE service. My brother with a iPhone 5 gets LTE. Also does anyone know if my unlimited data plan gets carried over to a non iPhone phone?

    ----------
     
  8. sman789 thread starter Customer Support

    sman789

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    #8


    My iphone unlimited plan is fine on my Galaxy Nexus. But I am using the iPhone 4 sim.

    I'm planning to move up to the LTE iPhone 5 nano Sim, I believe I can't actually change my data plan to a non-iPhone one without price changes, then pop it into an LTE android phone.
     
  9. ichii macrumors 6502a

    ichii

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    #9
    My unlimited plan transferred over from my iPhone 4s, I just had to go to AT&T and explained to them I got a new phone, but I'm not getting LTE signal. They had to update their system to allow my phone to get LTE. Returned the Nokia and switch to Optimus G. I really miss my iPhone, but I was really getting bored of the OS.
     

Share This Page