Has anyone used this PCIe SATA card?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by jangoforhire, Sep 24, 2013.

  1. jangoforhire macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    #1
    I am thinking about getting a SATA PCI card to run my OS off of. There are a few around, including some very expensive ones from OWC, but I thought this one on Amazon looked like a good deal. Plus I can use my own SSD.

    THIS card.

    And maybe THIS SSD.

    Anyone use this before?
     
  2. MacUser2525 macrumors 68000

    MacUser2525

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #2
    It says compatible with Mac Pro so should work, if you are looking to save a few dollars then this one I have seen mentioned a few times on this forum is bellow. In addition I have Sonnet external SATA card it works great so they know what they are doing Mac wise your original card choice I would think would do the same if you don't want to try this other one.

    http://www.amazon.com/Apricorn-Velo...0090IA3GY/ref=pd_sim_pc_2/187-5501814-2798307
     
  3. hmls macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2013
    #3
  4. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #4
  5. pjcltd macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2012
    Location:
    Telford Shropshire
    #5
    I have the PRO version in my Mac Pro5,1
    and it works very well no problem at all
     
  6. jangoforhire thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    #6
    Thanks for the help everyone, I went with the card MacUser2525 posted and a 120GB EVO HDD
     
  7. TzunamiOSX, Sep 25, 2013
    Last edited: Sep 25, 2013

    TzunamiOSX macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2009
    Location:
    Germany
    #7
    I have the two parts in my MP 5,1

    I have a little problem with this setup and i don't know why. For some time the EFI goes to a endless loop, when the Card is inside (but not from the beginning). An other User had the same problem, but from one day to the other it works again. He could not say exactly what he did to bring the EFI on again.

    I have learned to life with that "feature".

    I would bought the Syba card (good feedback in this Forum), but this card is not available in Europe.
     
  8. jangoforhire thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    #8
    So I got this card and drive, and threw it in my Mac Pro last night. It seems to be recognized as an external drive only. I haven't had a lot of time to mess with it yet, but is there a trick to formatting and using it as a boot disk? Or does it just stay on the external list and you use it from there.
     
  9. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #9
    ^^^^Yes it will not show as an internal drive. No Trick! Just format, initialize with OS, or clone and select as Boot Drive. And prepare to be amazed.

    Lou
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page