Has anyone used this with Logic?

Discussion in 'Digital Audio' started by Sethiroth, Jan 30, 2008.

  1. Sethiroth macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    #1
    M-Audio Delta 1010LT

    http://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/Delta1010LT/reviews/#anchor

    Apparently it works with both Windows and Mac.

    Im wondering how it interfaces with Logic Express. Does this mean I can record 10 different instraments to 10 different tracks at the same time?

    Excuse my lack of knowledge. Im new to this sort of thing.

    Also, what else would I need other then this?

    Thanks!
     
  2. zygo macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    What's your system spec? These cards won't go in Mac Pro's, or some G5's.

    Are you wanting to record 10 mics at the same time? This card only has 2 pre-amps.

    Describe what you would like to be able to do.
     
  3. Sethiroth thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    #3
    Well I have read that it wont go in Macs that don't support 33Mhz PCI slots. I don't have the computer yet. I am a Computer programmer/tech with access to lots of different systems, so thats no real big deal. i was just wondering if it interfaces with OS/X.5.1 Leopard. If it does, then I will get a used Mac that it will work in and upgrade the OS.

    I would like to have a system set up for individual studio work, but also have the option to record a live set.

    Can I have a band set up and then run a PA through this?
    If I have two guitarist and a singer can I record them at the same time without running through a PA?
    If I have 8 different instraments playing at the same time, will it record them all onto different tracks on the software?

    These are the questions that Im wondering.
     
  4. zygo macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    Personally I would never depend on computer/software solution to run a live performance.... too risky-computer crashes and the sound drops (or worse causes pops etc to damage your speakers).

    It may be better running into a mixer, then taking sends from this into your computer. The PA runs off the mixer-so the FOH isn't going to crash if the computer does. But you can send tracks/buses to the computer to record. This way also gives you the benefit of using a mixers pre-amps.... so you're not limited to the 2 on the delta-1010.

    M-Audio haven't yet released drivers for 10.5.1 across the range yet-some work with 10.4.10 drivers in Leopard though. Not sure about the delta-1010 specifically, but hunt around the forums and you'll find someone with one.
     
  5. InLikeALion macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Location:
    Greener places than I used to live
    #5
    I'm pretty sure he is saying PA generically and meaning a mixer. I don't think the OP is asking about a live gig, rather, recording "live" as in full band at once instead of track-at-a-time.

    Sethiroth, can you clarify?
     
  6. xjtxbox macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Location:
    Chicago
    #6
    sounds to me like he wanted them all to be on seperate tracks once they were in his mixer. but that just how i read it, he needs to clarify.

    if you want seperate tracks recorded live i would recomend the presonus firestudio. its great.
     

Share This Page