Has Civ IV been fixed for SR MBP (8600M GT)?

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by maccanuck2006, Jan 21, 2008.

  1. maccanuck2006 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Location:
    Vancouver Canada
    #1
    I have been waiting to buy Civ IV for OS X but have held off because of reports (from the online Apple Store and here on Macrumors) that it crashes with the Nvidia 8600m GT on Santa Rosa MBPs.
    Aspyr has patched it since but the Readme with the patch doesn't indicate whether or not it has fixed this bug. I have searched these forums and googled this and have come up with nothing.
    Anyone with a SR MBP have any luck with this game in OS X?
     
  2. Frederico1234 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    #2
  3. marclapierre13 macrumors 6502a

    marclapierre13

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    #3
    I play CIV4 on my MBP with no problems so far. I havent played it long, but for the few minutes it was on, it worked fine
     
  4. cmaier macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Location:
    California
    #4
    I've played for many many hours (in windowed mode, 1400x) and never had a single crash. Every once in awhile a drawing glitch (like, during battles, invisible units, or the bottom right corner overview map getting messed up). Still, more playable than the windows version was on my compaq r3000.
     
  5. QCassidy352 macrumors G3

    QCassidy352

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    Location:
    Bay Area
    #5
    discussed here

    I haven't seen any updates that fix it... but if they did it silently (1.74 patch?) I wouldn't know, since I don't have an 8600.
     
  6. Akira1980 macrumors 6502

    Akira1980

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Location:
    San Diego
    #6
    I am still waiting on the update my self. I hope it is soon, or I hope they release "Beyond the Sword" which should support the SR MBP if it comes out.
     
  7. CRAZYBUBBA macrumors 65816

    CRAZYBUBBA

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Location:
    Toronto/Houston
    #7
    This is surprising.. I love my copy of civ 4, I even have the warlord expansion pack.. no problems


    on the flipside I'm having trouble selling my copy of civ 3 for $20
     
  8. QCassidy352 macrumors G3

    QCassidy352

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    Location:
    Bay Area
    #8
    you play on a santa rosa macbook pro?
     

Share This Page