Has My External Drive Been Wiped Out?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by JPM42, Mar 16, 2009.

1. JPM42 macrumors 6502

So I have a Western Digital external hard drive that I bought in anticipation of the Leopard release in October, 2007. And it's generally worked well, until now. After being away for a few days, I turned on my iMac and the external didn't pop up. So I unplugged it and plugged it in again and after doing this, nothing came up.

Finally, a message comes up, hours later saying that the disk couldn't be initialized and the like and Disk Utility pops up. And on Disk Utility, my external is popped up... yet it shows it has the full amount of space available and that it isn't formatted.

Keep in mind that I'm a musician, I record, produce and actually put all of those files on the external to prevent myself hassle and heartache from the iMac's drive going out.

But now that this has happened... has my external wiped out? You have no idea how much I am praying to hear the words: "No."

Thanks!

2. John01021988 macrumors 6502

Maybe no...... Try to use Disk repair in your Disk Utility and see if it helps

3. miles01110 macrumors Core

miles01110

You could also try something like TechTool or Diskwarrior to see if those programs can fix it if disk utility doesn't work.

4. sushi Moderator emeritus

sushi

If you or a friend has a PC, then you can try SpinRite as well.

5. JPM42 thread starter macrumors 6502

Thanks, guys. The problem is that, right now, the Mac (and my Macbook when I tried it) isn't even recognizing it at this point, so when I try to do a disk repair or something like that, I can't do it, because it's not recognizing it. What could this mean?

6. sushi Moderator emeritus

sushi

It could mean that the MBR/PBR is hosed (corrupted).

As I mentioned above, if you have access to a PC give SpinRite a shot. It rocks. :)