Has the Mavericks column width bug been fixed in Yosemite?

Discussion in 'OS X Yosemite (10.10)' started by EdbBob, Feb 23, 2015.

  1. EdbBob macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    #1
    Hello nerds

    I can't say that I've been especially satisfied with Apple in recent years. I started out with Leopard, and Snow Leopard was a pretty awesome upgrade. Since then many things have just spiralled downwards.

    Things like trying to make the UI more "aesthetically pleasing", and at the same time loosing a lot of functionality. One example is Tags in Mavericks replacing Labels. How stupid was that? It might satisfy mr. Ive's need for "aesthetics" but it's pretty much unusable, and Labels wasn't.

    I have a lot of files! I'm an amateur astronomer, and I have tons of folders with 500+ files in each. With Mavericks that became a new problem. Finder became extremely sluggish, and scrolling using the mouse wheel is horribly slow. I use an old 2008 Mac Pro, but it's still a pretty fast computer, and I've upgraded with more memory, ATI 5770 and two SSDs in Raid0 as system disk. It'll still start Photoshop CS6 in less than a second.

    The most annoying thing though, has been the "Column width bug" in Mavericks. Finder doesn't remember Column Width as it did in previous OSX versions. Opening a new window, makes the Name Column so wide, that you have to use the scroll bar to get to other Columns, making it a struggle to sort by date etc. For a while I thought it would be fixed, but frankly it seems that Apple don't give a flip about Mavericks anymore. It's not that the issue hasn't been mentioned a thousand times at Apple's support forum.

    Therefore I'm (potentially stupid) considering taking the jump to Yosemite. Does anyone know if the Finder Column Bug has been fixed in Yosemite?

    Thanks in advance :)

    Best regards

    Morten
     
  2. EdbBob thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
  3. dyt1983, Feb 24, 2015
    Last edited: Jun 1, 2015

    dyt1983 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 6, 2014
    Location:
    USA USA USA
    #3
    edit: To remove personally identifying information not relevant to the thread.
     
  4. EdbBob thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    #4
    Thanks dyt :)

    Guess I'll have to try. I can always go back to Mavericks, using my TM backup. It takes a few hours though.
     
  5. dyt1983, Feb 24, 2015
    Last edited: Jun 1, 2015

    dyt1983 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 6, 2014
    Location:
    USA USA USA
    #5
    edit: To remove personally identifying information not relevant to the thread.
     
  6. Ulenspiegel macrumors 68020

    Ulenspiegel

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2014
    Location:
    Land of Flanders and Elsewhere
    #6
  7. dyt1983, Feb 24, 2015
    Last edited: Jun 1, 2015

    dyt1983 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 6, 2014
    Location:
    USA USA USA
    #7
    edit: To remove personally identifying information not relevant to the thread.
     
  8. BrianBaughn macrumors 601

    BrianBaughn

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
    #8
    This has been addresses in another thread last year.

    I made an app from someone else's script, put it in my Applications folder, and dragged it to the Mac window toolbar. It automatically resizes the columns.

    Download it here if you want to try it:

    View attachment Fix Window.zip
     

Share This Page