Haswell MBA Hard Drive Recall Problem

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by claythrow, Nov 1, 2013.

1. claythrow macrumors newbie

Hello all,

I got a late 2013 MBA, the first with the Haswell i7's. It has 8gb of ram but only 128gb of hard drive. Thats too little hard drive space for me, even though I have terabytes of space at home on servers.

The reason I bought this one is because it was among the models that has a recall on the SSD drives. I called Apple to confirm this and they said my serial does indeed fall under the recall and I could just bring it in and they would replace the SSD.

I then asked while they are replacing the SSD how much it would be to upgrade to a larger drive, they asked me to hold on, and then said to upgrade to the 512gb would be about $270 and the labor would be free as they are going to do it anyway. Great!!!

Called my local Mac store today to set it up and they said they cannot upgrade the drive, only replace it. That's the whole reason I bought this damn unit. I tried to get the guy to specify if they "can't" or "won't" and he made it seem like Apple will not allow them to do that.

Am I screwed? Is my plan foiled? I can put it up on Ebay and take a bath on it. I am computer savvy, built regular, liquid, phase computers etc. With these units is there something I personally can do to fix my problem? It has an SD slot for which I have a 128gb card, but that is still not enough. I was thinking once I was done, I would have 768gb with the card, not 256. Any help, ideas etc are welcomed.

2. AlecMyrddyn macrumors 6502

I thought the SSD replacement was for the pre-Haswell MBAs:

http://www.apple.com/support/macbookair-flashdrive/

What does the Apple Firmware Updater 1.1 say about your SSD?

If Apple Support approved the upgrade, call them again about it and tell them what the Apple Store person told you.