Haswell USB3.0 bug?

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by gloryunited, Jun 16, 2013.

  1. gloryunited macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    #1
    Is it a myth?

    Does it affect the Haswell MBA 2013?

    Thanks.
     
  2. DoctorK4 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    #3
    My read is that they caught the bug before the chip went into mass production and that it's been resolved. Is that wrong?
     
  3. gloryunited thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    #4
    It seems no one is complaining about it.

    Can anyone test it with a plugged in external HDD and then sleep/wake the MBA?
     
  4. Bear macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Sol III - Terra
    #5
    The issue wasn't with HDDs according to what you linked. To quote: "This issue has only been observed with a small subset of USB SuperSpeed thumb drives and does not affect other USB peripherals."
     
  5. snakes- macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011
    Location:
    Wiesbaden
    #6
    MBA 2013 Haswell USB-3.0-Bug ?

    Have MBA 2013 the Haswell USB-3.0-Bug ?
    I want order some MBA but not with some bugs. Bether to wait for new Chip generation?
     
  6. DavidC1 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2006
    #7
    NO.

    None of the U and Y series based platforms have the platform.

    The others are fixable by a software update, which isn't a big deal.
     
  7. snakes- macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011
    Location:
    Wiesbaden
    #8
    OK, i ordered mine today :)
     
  8. thebucket macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2013
    #9
    Hi, can you share your source of Information?

    As far as i know all of the Lynx chipset group are affected. Also the QM87 HM87 and HM86, the mobile versions.

    Here is a list of usb3 devices which are said to initiate the Bug.

    http://uk.hardware.info/news/35295/haswell-has-usb-30-issues-with-14-out-of-22-tested-usb-drives
     
  9. DavidC1 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2006
    #10
    Stop worrying about it. It's the most inflated minor bug ever. The link says its even software patchable as well.

    http://www.4gamer.net/games/127/G012700/20130604018/

    Haswell U and Y doesn't use the HM87 and such chipset, because its on package. Since that makes it harder to replace, Intel fixed it before launch.

    http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/core-i7-4770k-haswell-review,3521-9.html

    You will also see here that there's no mention of U and Y series chipset at all. If its named, it should be named U-something.

    http://www.eteknix.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/04/intel_haswell_USB3_fix_PCN.jpg
     
  10. gpeden macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    #12
    Well, I've started to worry about it indeed!

    My first CCC clone to an external USB3 drive looks fine until I try to reboot. I can select it to be the startup drive in preferences, but when the restart is attempted it isn't seen. I will make a clone to my 2TB WD My Passport this evening and try again. If it also fails, the only way I will keep this machine is if apple gives me a free TB - USB3 dongle and THAT works :)

    If there is a patch done during reboot, then it just won't work as a startup drive.

    Hopefully others will try this too, but I will report back more results in 12 hours or so.

    Glen
     
  11. gloryunited thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    #13
    Thanks. Please keep us posted.
     
  12. gpeden macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    #14
    OK, same process (erased backup partition, CCC clone) worked on the WD MyPassport portable drive. I will retry it on the WD Mybook drive later on today. Not near as worried now :)

    <hysteria off> :)

    Glen
     
  13. gpeden macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    #15
    OK, OK, I got it :) The first drive I used, a WD MyBook 1TB USB3 drive, simply cannot handle a reboot on either port, even if it isn't selected as a startup drive. It does the same thing in either case - the HDD controller seems to freeze, with the LED light solid and the drive running forever, even with the USB pulled. The only way to stop it is to pull its power plug.

    But here's the good news.... If I power down instead of restarting, that drive doesn't get a chance to hangup. Simply plug in the HDD with its power plug inserted (but the drive is still powered down) and start the Macbook Air. In that case the cloned bootable partition can be selected and it starts up fine!

    Why that drive hangs up I dunno, but in a real-live need to use a cloned backup from that drive, I now know how to do it. I can continue having each drive carry both a CCC cloned partition and a time Machine backup in addition to their other duties.

    Sorry for any distress I might have caused those of us still having pre-purchase psychosis;) I feel much better now doctor - the fact that I cancelled my order three times to change between i5/i7 was bad enough - glad I wasn't worried about this too :)

    Glen
     
  14. snakes- macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011
    Location:
    Wiesbaden
    #16
    Which USB Stick 32GB 3.0 is good? What would you recommend to me ?
    I want order one for mavericks later.
     

Share This Page