Haswell will double the GPU performance?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Kendo, Jan 26, 2013.

  1. Kendo macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    #1
    I guess it is safe to say that the 2013 refresh will be the perfect time to buy a 13" Retina? People say that they have no problems with the HD 4000 running the current display but twice the performance should remove all doubt, no?
     
  2. Ploki macrumors 68010

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    #2
    It's a software issue, I can run the 15" off HD4000, so there isn't any doubt here. If it lags on HD4000 it WILL lag on Haswell if they don't fix up the software issues.

    But yes, it's going to offer much more GFX performance compared to the 2012 model.
     
  3. torana355 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #3
    Even the 15" rMBP with the 650m has slight lag when i use it. imo Retina is not quite there yet on laptops. Im sure people that spent money on one will defend it but im unbiased, i just use my Sisters from time to time and its not as smooth as my MBA or iMac.
     
  4. NutsNGum macrumors 68030

    NutsNGum

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    #4
    The only place there's lag when the GT650M is engaged is in web browsers (excluding Safari Webkit Nightlies). This is purely a software issue.

    The hardware is more than capable of running the UI perfectly @2800x1800 and the scaled resolutions.
     
  5. adjeff8 macrumors 6502

    adjeff8

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2012
    #5
    If that's the case then one would think it would be addressed in OS 10.9. One would think
     
  6. NutsNGum macrumors 68030

    NutsNGum

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    #6
    It's not really down to Apple's OSX updates to improve "Retina" mode behaviour in third party browsers, that's down to the vendor themselves, i.e. Google and Mozilla corp.
     
  7. adjeff8 macrumors 6502

    adjeff8

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2012
    #7
    Ahh. I get it. Silly me. Let me ask you this then. Firefox recently had a update. Was this addressed in the Firefox update? That's my preferred browser
     
  8. Valkyre macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2012
    #8
    i am getting sick and tired hearing people talk about the rmbp and lag as if it is down to hardware issues...

    for f... sake... once and for all...

    it is a software issue.

    A little research didn't hurt anyone. This is going to be the "myth" surrounding rmbp forever...

    or until apple fixes it already...
     
  9. Ploki macrumors 68010

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    #9
    I never get nvidia engaged when running Safari.

    Anyway, here is screenshots, the verge, scrolling like I have a seizure:
    2880*1800 @200% zoom
    1440*900 @100%, HiDPI.
    mind you, the webpage looks exactly the same, the fonts are just as crisp etc etc.
    So obviously, it has to do with HiDPI implementation and nothing else.
     

    Attached Files:

  10. NutsNGum macrumors 68030

    NutsNGum

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    #10
    I don't understand what you're getting at.

    I was referring to the Safari Webkit Nightly builds which have fixed the scrolling issue.

    http://nightly.webkit.org
     
  11. Ploki macrumors 68010

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    #11
    Only the first sentence was referring to your post sorry.

    Showing people that its purely a software issue wherever it happens.
    Never got Nvidia engaged with nightly kits either. I went back to safari because I like iCloud tabs and honestly I don't frequent any pages with lag issues.
     
  12. rev.b macrumors regular

    rev.b

    Joined:
    May 1, 2009
    Location:
    Portugal
    #12
    Of course. My Radeon 6750 is one generation behind and it can drive a 2560x1440 external + its 1920x1200 internal at the same time without any noticeable lag.
     
  13. lancdoc macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2013
    #13
    From what I've read it is not clear a/o certain that Haswell will double GPU performance, especially as it applies to common usage.
     
  14. dusk007 macrumors 68040

    dusk007

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    #14
    It most likely won't for the quad cores. It won't be an across the board speed increase like the HD 3000 to HD 4000, where practically any processor had the new Hd 4000 only very few Desktop chips had the HD 2500.
    This time there are likely to be lots of HD 4600 which is only somewhat faster than the GT3 (HD 5000) and as the complaints of manufacturers over extra prices implies seperate GT3e versions with the embedded memory. The last ones will double performance but I bet they will only show in some dual cores and not all there are. Most likely also not in a single quad core.

    Haswell will be an UP TO double performance. I think that double is very likely for the fastest incarnations. Obviously it is still 22nm and still the same TDP or even lower TDP so there cannot be any miracles but I think it is possible, they only have to offer the GPU a bigger chunk of the TDP envelope.
     
  15. Freyqq macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2004
    #15
    if it lags while using the 650m, then it DEFINITELY is not a hardware issue. If that thing can play games like battlefield 3 on high at 1920x1200, it can handle scrolling through facebook lol.
     
  16. Ploki macrumors 68010

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    #16
    Yeah but the scrolling through facebook is a CPU intensive task, not a GPU intensive task... :)
     
  17. Rhinoevans macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2012
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    #17
    Who cares if you are sick and tired. Inappropriate comments. Better if no comment. Added nothing! Probably just like mine!
     
  18. Xgm541 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    #18
    Except it cannot play BF3 on high at 1920x1200 at 60fps. It will turn on, but you will lag.

    Just clearing that up :).
     
  19. chrisrosemusic1 macrumors 6502a

    chrisrosemusic1

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Location:
    Northamptonshire, England
    #19
    Yeah I'm holding off on a new purchase until those Haswell's are in the Macs. They should competently run games on an integrated card at last.
     
  20. Freyqq macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2004
    #20
    Safari currently is single-threaded. Luckily the webkit betas are multithreaded, which fixes the issue.
     
  21. Ploki macrumors 68010

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    #21
    True. Still, i think the whole design is bloated and plagued with bugs.

    Ever wondered why phones and tablets work so fine on CPUs that arent half as powerful? They had to be coded from ground up.
     
  22. robvas macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    Location:
    USA
    #22
    The iOS and Safari are very heavily based on the full-size Mac counterparts
     
  23. duervo macrumors 68000

    duervo

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2011
    #23
    Not sure what you're referring to by saying multithreaded ... maybe the sub process responsible for rendering?

    Safari is using more than a single thread on my system, which seems to suggest that it is multithreaded.
     

    Attached Files:

  24. robvas macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    Location:
    USA
    #24
    There are a couple pages where re-sizing the Safari window gets real choppy, but scrolling isn't as bad IMO

    It's bad enough where 2X the performance wouldn't make it as smooth as it is on a cMBP
     
  25. Ploki macrumors 68010

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    #25
    Yes, all based on Darwin. HOWEVER, because programmers had limited resources to work with the apps are designed to run way more efficiently.

    to my experience same pages get choppy on the cMBP, the same amount. Gmail for instance.
     

Share This Page