hate how you lose activity data for the day

Discussion in 'Apple Watch' started by oftheheavens, Jun 13, 2016.

  1. oftheheavens macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Location:
    cherry point
    #1
    I hate when you reset you lose your activity data for the day (if not week). I just went out and ensured i finished my rings for the day now I won't get credit for it and will lose my perfect week. Anyway around this?
     
  2. swarlos macrumors 6502

    swarlos

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2015
    #2
    What do you mean by reset? The watch or the phone?
     
  3. oftheheavens thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Location:
    cherry point
    #3
    have to reset the watch to pair it with the phone after going to ios10
     
  4. swarlos macrumors 6502

    swarlos

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2015
    #4
    Did you update to the watchOS beta also? Did you do a fresh install of 10? Even so it should have backed up your data unless you don't have your backup encrypted with a password in iTunes then you would lose that data.
     
  5. oftheheavens thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Location:
    cherry point
    #5
    I restored from backup which may be why I am having a syncing problem which states "can't sync due to this computer not being authorized for purchases on this iPhone" even after reauthorizing the computer...
     
  6. JayLenochiniMac macrumors G5

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Location:
    New Sanfrakota
    #6
    Yet another poster who withheld the fact they're using a beta.
     
  7. oftheheavens thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Location:
    cherry point
    #7
    this has happened to me before the iOS 10 beta smart ass.. otherwise i wouldn't "hate" it, I would just think it sucked as I would be surprised it happened.

    anytime I have had to restore my phone or watch it happens.
     
  8. BarracksSi macrumors 68040

    BarracksSi

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2015
    #8
    What are you doing to require frequent restoring of your phone or watch?
     
  9. oftheheavens thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Location:
    cherry point
    #9
    not to often, but I have had to return a couple phone under apple care, and during iOS 9 beta i was coding and had to do it a few times. More often though I have to redo the watch. I have had 2 defective ones that the genius bar had me replace and one I replaced because it broke (under apple care and they did it for free)
     
  10. BarracksSi macrumors 68040

    BarracksSi

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2015
    #10
    How do you keep breaking your stuff?

    And complaining about data loss while using beta software? No sympathy from me (and no sympathy from anyone else, I hope).
     
  11. oftheheavens thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Location:
    cherry point
    #11
    I am not breaking it, if you can read (and did read) I received 2 DEFECTIVE apple watches. I am not bitching about losing my data due to beta, I am complaining about how I went out of my way to finish my rings today to keep a perfect week and now I won't be able to. So if you have nothing intelligent to say or contribute then move along troll.

    EDIT just fyi your sympathy wasn't asked for and I definitely could care less if I have it. you are just a computer as far as I am concerned...
     
  12. Sweeperdk macrumors regular

    Sweeperdk

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Location:
    Århus, Denmark
    #12
    Wow... Just wow.

    With all due respect, someone here needs to take a huuuge chillpill, or go outside, breathe some more, fill some more rings and then come back.

    We're all trying to be friends here... Let's not go overly agressive on each other.
     
  13. oftheheavens thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Location:
    cherry point
    #13
    Agreed, I was rather annoyed with some of the people I replied to as the had something to say on every post I made last night wether it was helpful or not. But moving on, I do enjoy the new activities watch faces on the new watch os. Got the watch finally updated while I was sleeping last night and I am very happy with it so far this morning! No glitches or bugs for me yet /fingerscrossed
     
  14. Julien macrumors G3

    Julien

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #14
    However there was no need to restore or repair the :apple:Watch when installing iOS10. Since the OP has had an :apple:Watch replaced they know that all data will be lost since the last backup.

    Actually you should do a backup right before you install ANY new OS. I did an iCloud and iTunes backups right before I installed iOS 10 (and didn't need them). If for some reason you want to restore and repair you simply just use the backup you just made and little to no data (Rings/Health and all) is lost.
     
  15. oftheheavens thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Location:
    cherry point
    #15
    Your absolutely correct, sadly my iPhone was having serious issues when restoring from back up so I had to do a fresh install. Everything is acting great now though. As for the watch I am unaware of a way to back up your daily activity rings. Anyways, I got everything up and running great now minus the fact that I lost my text message history. I am not at home right now but I am wondering if the back up I did before restoring transferred my text onto the Mac text messaging app. I haven't figured out to this day how and when the messaging app on Mac is updated to reflect your iPhone messages. Sometimes it seems to keep up and sometimes it seems that the newest saved messages is from a year ago. Maybe I am missing something in the Mac messaging preferences.
     
  16. Julien macrumors G3

    Julien

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #16
    The :apple:Watch backup is inside the iPhone backup, so when you backup your iPhone you will have an :apple:Watch backup that will be within a moment of the iPhone backup. If you are using iTunes for backup you MUST use the Encrypted setting check box.
     
  17. oftheheavens thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Location:
    cherry point
    #17
    Nice information! I don't have the encrypted checked, but will do so from now on thanks for this!

    I need to look into installing the OTA update bit so that I don't have to install fresh with every beta release. Do you by chance know if I can install that even though I already did a fresh install? Hope that makes sense.
     
  18. Julien macrumors G3

    Julien

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #18
    Did you install your developer or AppleSeed iOS 10 Beta Software Profile from your account page?
     
  19. oftheheavens thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Location:
    cherry point
    #19
    If I understand you correctly, yes I downloaded the files for the phone and watch from my developer page and passed on downloading the config that allowed for OTA updates. Can I go back and download that seed and install it without having to redo my phone and watch?

    If I understand correctly the way I have it set up I would have to download each new seed for beta 1,2,3 ect. And then do a option upgrade. With the stability so far I am comfortable now with having OTA updates but don' think that is how I have it set up. Again I hope this makes sense and I could probably answer the question myself but I am not in front of my Mac right now to bring up my developer page.
     
  20. Julien macrumors G3

    Julien

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #20
    As long as the Profile is installed on your iPhone all you will need to do when Seed 2 comes out is be on WiFi, have 50% batt or plugged in, hit Settings: General: Software Update and install.

    Just to add here is what your Profile should look like.

    [​IMG]
     
  21. oftheheavens thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Location:
    cherry point
    #21
    Ok so OTA will work even if that isn't how I installed os10 to begin with?
     
  22. Julien macrumors G3

    Julien

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #22
    Yes, as long as your iOS Beta Software Profile is installed (see pic).
     
  23. oftheheavens thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Location:
    cherry point
    #23
    I found a solution to my lost messages that may help others out. I found a program called fonepaw iPhone data recovery. It allows you to see all the information saved to the cloud and I was able to pull up all the messages that I had lost and save the numbers i needed to save. There is a free trial but after that it charges you. Got what I needed out of it though.
    --- Post Merged, Jun 14, 2016 ---
    Thanks you are very helpful!
    --- Post Merged, Jun 14, 2016 ---
    I don't have a profiles option under general. sorry for being so naive when it comes to this, but how did you get to your profiles?
     

Share This Page