Have 3,1 now, do I upgrade to 4,1?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by adam9c1, Nov 19, 2013.

  1. adam9c1, Nov 19, 2013
    Last edited: Nov 20, 2013

    adam9c1 macrumors 65816

    adam9c1

    Joined:
    May 2, 2012
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    #1
    Hi.

    I have a 3,1 dual quad 3.0 running ML.
    24GB RAM FB Dimm 800 mhz speed
    120 GB SSD
    2TB WD Black
    2TB WD Black
    nvidia 8800 512GB

    Here is what I use the computer for:
    itunes library
    iphoto library
    general web surf
    fusion: running few Windows machines to poke around; I'd like to run Win 2012 as well as OS X in a VM.

    Machine is rock solid, I power down every few months or so when iPhoto does not see my phone or when I rerun cables or so. I think at some point uptime was 87 days.

    I think I'm not using much CPU but I think I would gain from faster RAM.
    Is that correct? Yesterday I was watching some education videos from Lenovo and they show how much faster and more bandwidth DDR3 is vs DDR2...
    I already have 32GB of DDR3 (4 sticks of 8), as with my funds purchased it for a tower computer at my old job and took the memory out when left.

    Gazelle can give me $400 for the tower with 4GB RAM and a single 2TB HD and the rest I' put on fleebay.
    I do have the original box.

    --
    I think I can buy a bare no hd no ram 2.66 4,1 for about 800
     
  2. adam9c1 thread starter macrumors 65816

    adam9c1

    Joined:
    May 2, 2012
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    #3
    Hmm. No one else?

    Perhaps I could sell now, fall back on my white MacBook and pickup 4,1 come Dec, Jan?
     
  3. Celedral macrumors 6502

    Celedral

    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #4
    Do as you feel. If you need an upgrade then go for it, but those simple task require very little power. You already have an SSD for general speed so it won't be much of a difference if you upgraded to a 4,1.

    Oh the other hand, the 4,1 will offer more options when you do decide to tinker with it. Flash it to 5,1 and you can have even more options.
     
  4. adam9c1 thread starter macrumors 65816

    adam9c1

    Joined:
    May 2, 2012
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    #5
    How much can I expect for my 3,1 if I keep the SSD and 1 WD black?

    I have the original box?
     
  5. Macsonic macrumors 65816

    Macsonic

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Location:
    Earth
    #6
    As far as I have observed in sale ads, the 3.1 Mac Pro goes for around $800 to $950 on the average including the original box.
     

Share This Page