Have 7 hours of SD content to burn to Blu-Ray...

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by waloshin, Jul 15, 2016.

  1. waloshin macrumors 68040

    waloshin

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    #1
    Have 7 hours of SD content to burn to Blu-Ray it says it takes up 20 gigabytes of space in FCPX, but when I burn it only 2 hours of video ends up on the Blu-Ray. What is going on?
     
  2. MarkMoran macrumors newbie

    MarkMoran

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2016
    Location:
    Green Bay, WI
    #2
    Can you screen shot your export settings? It sounds like something's happening during the transcode, and you're ending up with a much higher bitrate than you're starting with.
     
  3. HobeSoundDarryl macrumors 603

    HobeSoundDarryl

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2004
    Location:
    Hobe Sound, FL (20 miles north of Palm Beach)
    #3
    Are you wanting a playable BD disc (to play in a Blu ray player) or are you simply archiving this video on a BD disc?
     
  4. waloshin thread starter macrumors 68040

    waloshin

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    #4
    I want a playable Blu-Ray disc.
     
  5. kohlson macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    #5
    Take a look at your rendering settings. For example, the bit-rate may be set for HD, on the order of 10-15 Mbps . SD would be much less than that - maybe 1-1.5 Mbps or less. Look at the audio settings, too.
     
  6. Dave Braine macrumors 68040

    Dave Braine

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Location:
    Warrington, UK
    #6
    What dvd drive are you using to burn the disc?
     
  7. waloshin thread starter macrumors 68040

    waloshin

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    #7
    An Lg Wh16ns40
     
  8. Gwendolini macrumors 6502

    Gwendolini

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2015
    Location:
    random
    #8
    Well, what about those settings you got asked about?
     
  9. waloshin thread starter macrumors 68040

    waloshin

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
  10. kiwipeso1 Suspended

    kiwipeso1

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2001
    Location:
    Wellington, New Zealand
    #10
    Have you considered getting Toast DVD, then the Bluray plugin ? Works flawlessly for compiling video projects to discs.
     
  11. martinX macrumors 6502a

    martinX

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Location:
    Australia
    #11
    Could there be a hard 2 hour limit for discs? I know there was for DVDs.

    Also (but not related) you have a mismatch between frame rates of your source and your project.
     
  12. DemonMF777 macrumors member

    DemonMF777

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2014
    Location:
    S. Florida
    #12
    There is NO limit on the length of content that can be put onto a DVD/Blu-Ray disc, you are only limited by the size of the disc & thus the data rate of your video. Now some software i.e. FCP or iMovie may impose limits onto how much content can be burned onto a single disc. I have personally put 3-4 hours onto a DVD (now this was just talking heads & not the best quality) but I am using more professional tools i.e. DVD Studio Pro & Adobe Encore. I'm pretty sure you could easily put 7-8 hours of SD content onto Blu-Ray using Encore.
     
  13. ColdCase macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Location:
    NH
    #13
    I don't think I ran into a two hour limit. I regularly put 3-4 hours of SD material compressed to 4.5GB onto DVDs. They looked pretty good.

    Now there were some free demo software around that had limits.
     
  14. martinX macrumors 6502a

    martinX

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Location:
    Australia
    #14
    That's the limits I was referring to. I know iMovie had a hard limit of 2 hours, I'm not sure if FCP X does. Since Apple put DVD Studio Pro out to pasture and generally deprecated DVD burning, I thought it worth mentioning that.
    --- Post Merged, Jul 19, 2016 ---
    Does the BluRay disc look full with the two hours of footage on it?
    (Disclaimer: I have never burned a BluRay disc, just DVDs, so I don't know if the burned region of a BD-R looks different to the unburned region)
     
  15. ColdCase macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Location:
    NH
    #15
    I don't think FCP directly had a hard two hour limit, but it could have. You couldn't tinker enough with the settings to squeeze more video in like one could with compressor. So the work around was export master files from FCP and then use compressor to make the DVD image or suitable DVD clips that an authoring program could assemble into a DVD that would play as long as you like... maybe not at the best quality.
     

Share This Page