have a question about my mac pro

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by rangerfreak1, Mar 24, 2009.

  1. rangerfreak1 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    #1
    i have an i man 24.inch 3.06ghz and i decided to give it to my wife so i went out and bought a new mac pro 2.26ghz 8 core.i seems to me that the final cut express rendering is about the same and the performance seems close but the programs never max out my cpu usage so i feel that fce and some other programs are not taking full use of this awsome computer. whats going on?
     
  2. belvdr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    #2
    CPU is not the only factor in speed. It could very well be hard disk I/O. So if the hard disk I/O is maxed out, you may never see a CPU being taxed.
     
  3. rangerfreak1 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    #3
    i thought since this is a mac pro that it would be alot faster than this.
     
  4. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #4
    You're limited by the speed at which your hard drive spins, and there is no circumvention (buy an SSD or 15k disk). The only bottleneck below that is the speed at which your optical drive reads media.
     
  5. rangerfreak1 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008

Share This Page