Have Blackberry, want new iPhone, keep same number?

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by AuroraProject, Jun 8, 2008.

  1. AuroraProject macrumors 65816

    AuroraProject

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Location:
    Right there
    #1
    I currently have a Blackberry with at&t, in contract, not eligible for an upgrade until November. But I want the new iPhone, so I'm prepared to pay full price for it, but can I keep my same phone number? Can I just take the sim out of my Blackberry and put it into the iPhone? If not how do I keep the same number?
     
  2. nickspohn macrumors 68040

    nickspohn

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    #2
    You will need the SIM the iPhone comes with. I think you could use your current SIM you have now, but what is the point?

    You can also keep your number. You do all of that through iTunes.
     
  3. Ryan1524 macrumors 68000

    Ryan1524

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2003
    Location:
    Canada GTA
    #3
    If you're already with AT&T, swap out the SIM. Done. The beauty of GSM. :)
     
  4. FarSeide macrumors 6502a

    FarSeide

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Location:
    Earth Lane
    #4
    I was in the same boat as you when I got my first iPhone.

    During your activation via iTunes, you will need to provide some personal information to validate your current AT&T account and it will do the rest for you. I would just call later on to verify that either BIS/BES has been removed from you account so that you dont get charged for those services.
     
  5. Mad Mac Maniac macrumors 601

    Mad Mac Maniac

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Location:
    A little bit of here and a little bit of there.
    #5
    what is the point of switching? if you already have a sim I'd just say stick with it, unless there is some advantage to the iphone sim card that i am unaware of
     
  6. FarSeide macrumors 6502a

    FarSeide

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Location:
    Earth Lane
    #6
    perhaps the OP is still using the old PB Sim card...
     
  7. Ryan1524 macrumors 68000

    Ryan1524

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2003
    Location:
    Canada GTA
    #7
    He might need a 3G enabled SIM card if he's getting a 3G iPhone. In that case, just get ATT to switch your account to the new SIM card. I've had it done before when I lost my phone with a different carrier.
     
  8. eddietr macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Location:
    Virginia
    #8
    You have to activate the iPhone with iTunes anyway. So it's not even worth the effort to remove the SIM card from the BB and then install it in the iPhone. Because you still have to activate it in iTunes.

    So in iTunes, just say you are switching an existing AT&T/Cingular number and it goes from there.
     
  9. sfoalex macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2001
    #9
    I switched from AT&T BlackBerry BES account to iPhone. There is nothing to it. No need to take the SIM out of the BlackBerry.

    All you need to do is the following:

    Insert the new iPhone into iTunes.
    The software will ask if this is to replace an existing AT&T account. Say yes.
    Your BlackBerry Data plan will be replaced with the AT&T iPhone data plan.

    The AT&T site takes a little bit longer to reflect this change, but it works as expected and there is nothing for you to do. You keep your existing number.

    It took me all of 1 minute to transfer from BlackBerry to iPhone.

    Alex Alexzander
     
  10. zainjetha macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    #10
    yeah just leave the SIM in the BB and activate with new SIM in iPhone.. BB sim wont work.... unless you love your current tariff with your BB, then just get the BB data removed and replace it with normal data plan and jb iphone and put old BB Sim..
     
  11. djransom macrumors 68040

    djransom

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Location:
    Chi-Town
    #11
    I just made the switch from my BB as well Saturday, except I took the SIM from my BB and inserted it in to the iPhone. I then hooked it up to iTunes and followed the prompts and it took less than 5 minutes.
     
  12. AuroraProject thread starter macrumors 65816

    AuroraProject

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Location:
    Right there
    #12
    Glad to hear the transition is painless. Thanks guys.
     

Share This Page