Have I borked my boot partition?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by someguy, May 17, 2008.

  1. someguy macrumors 68020

    someguy

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2005
    Location:
    Still here.
    #1
    So, I decided I was going to put Ubuntu on my PowerBook and wanted to create a seperate partition to install it to on my 80GB internal hard drive. So to create the space, I resized my "PowerBook G4" partition, yes the one with Leopard installed to it, and yes, the one I was currently logged into (smart, eh?). Everything but the mouse cursor locked up about 20 seconds into the resizing process and I was forced to reboot via holding the power button down.

    Now all I get when I fire the machine up is the Apple logo and the spinning deal underneath it just spins and spins, but I never get anywhere. I didn't tamper with any files or anything, only played with the free space on the partition, so my install should still be good, but how do I get things back to the way they were?

    I have everything backed up via Time Machine, and I also have other Macs lying around so TDM is an option if that helps.

    What can I do?


    btw, it just hit me, I'm probably supposed to boot to the Live Ubuntu CD, THEN start fooling with my partitions and such, huh? :rolleyes:
     
  2. Eraserhead macrumors G4

    Eraserhead

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    Erase and Install from the time machine backup is probably the easiest solution. (and when you're doing it setup a partition for Ubuntu ;)).
     
  3. someguy thread starter macrumors 68020

    someguy

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2005
    Location:
    Still here.
    #3
    Alright, but I don't know how to do that. :D

    ...and is there no way to fix whatever damage I may have done to my partition?
     
  4. Eraserhead macrumors G4

    Eraserhead

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    Insert the Mac OS X Leopard DVD and hold down C on startup. It'll give you the option to restore from Time Machine.
     
  5. someguy thread starter macrumors 68020

    someguy

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2005
    Location:
    Still here.
    #5
    Nice. I'll give that a shot. Thanks.
     
  6. Eraserhead macrumors G4

    Eraserhead

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #6
    ^^ And you should first load disk utility from the Mac OS X DVD (before the installer, it should be in the tools menu) to create the partitions.
     
  7. someguy thread starter macrumors 68020

    someguy

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2005
    Location:
    Still here.
    #7
    Hehe, I do know that much, but thanks for the tip! :D
     
  8. someguy thread starter macrumors 68020

    someguy

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2005
    Location:
    Still here.
    #8
    Alright, I've "Successful" complete this process twice now, both with fresh formats and each using a different restore point from Time Machine, and I still get lift with the eternally spinning cog-type thing and the gray Apple logo. Just to be sure I was waiting long enough, I let it go all night, and it's still sitting here spinning so something isn't right.

    Any ideas?
     
  9. dvince2 macrumors 6502

    dvince2

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #9
    Are you formatting the entire drive and installing it? or are you just installing into the old "Powerbook G4" partition?
     
  10. someguy thread starter macrumors 68020

    someguy

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2005
    Location:
    Still here.
    #10
    I reformatted the entire drive, creating two partitions this time (one for Ubuntu which has not yet been installed).
     
  11. someguy thread starter macrumors 68020

    someguy

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2005
    Location:
    Still here.
    #11
    Repairing permissions on the partition seems to have helped to some extent. I can now get to the stage where my desktop wallpaper shows up (no icons, Dock, or menubar however) and I can move the cursor around.

    Getting closer? Any ideas?
     
  12. someguy thread starter macrumors 68020

    someguy

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2005
    Location:
    Still here.
    #12
    RESOLVED: The repair permissions fixed whatever was wrong, I just had to turn on my second display which was my primary (hence only seeing a blank desktop on the second display).

    Thanks for the help! :D
     

Share This Page