Have I destroyed my SSD?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by jecox95, Oct 18, 2014.

  1. jecox95, Oct 18, 2014
    Last edited: Oct 18, 2014

    jecox95 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2014
    #1
    Hello all.

    After the release of yosemite I decided to do a clean install. This is because I was having problems removing my yosemite beta partition. After many failed attempts of formatting the drive I had managed to majorly corrupt the drive. The main partition that previously held mavericks was no long visible in disk utility. Also the drive has now been named Logical Volume Group. After freaking after reading online that this was not going to be an easy fix I ordered a new (and larger) ssd. Now my machine is up and running fine with this new drive.

    I have plugged the old drive in with a sata to usb cable to try repairing it.

    Has anyone got any ideas?
     
  2. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #2
    Can you see the old drive in Disk Utility? You should be able to select the drive brand name above any partitions and erase the entire disk in the erase tab.

    If you can't and you are still seeing that double Macintosh HD business from the core storage conversion, attach the drive then run the command below in Terminal and post up the output and we can put together a command to revert away from that core storage.

    Code:
    diskutil list
     
  3. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #3
    Are you looking to recover the data or get the drive back to good working order? If you need to recover the data, I would follow Weaselboy's advice. If you just want to wipe it I would erase it in Disk Utility and double check the lifetime information in DriveDx.
     
  4. jecox95 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2014
    #4
    This is what I get:
    Code:
    Jamess-MBP-2:~ jamescox$ diskutil list
    /dev/disk0
       #:                       TYPE NAME                    SIZE       IDENTIFIER
       0:      GUID_partition_scheme                        *512.1 GB   disk0
       1:                        EFI EFI                     209.7 MB   disk0s1
       2:          Apple_CoreStorage                         511.3 GB   disk0s2
       3:                 Apple_Boot Recovery HD             650.0 MB   disk0s3
    /dev/disk1
       #:                       TYPE NAME                    SIZE       IDENTIFIER
       0:                  Apple_HFS Macintosh HD           *510.9 GB   disk1
                                     Logical Volume on disk0s2
                                     85F3D2C4-6E71-4FA5-9CA2-60B94B2C3499
                                     Unlocked Encrypted
    /dev/disk2
       #:                       TYPE NAME                    SIZE       IDENTIFIER
       0:      GUID_partition_scheme                        *250.1 GB   disk2
       1:                        EFI EFI                     209.7 MB   disk2s1
       2:          Apple_CoreStorage                         221.9 GB   disk2s2
       3:                 Apple_Boot Recovery HD             650.0 MB   disk2s3
    


    ----------

    Luckily I had everything backed up so I'm just looking to get it working again.
    In disk utility I have no option to erase or do anything with the drive.
     
  5. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #5

    You can try a third party drive tool. I have used Parted Magic and GParted in the past with these kinds of issues.
     
  6. jecox95 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2014
    #6
    Thanks for everyones replies.

    I have fixed this now by running the 'eraseDisk' function from the terminal. A lot easier than I thought
     
  7. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #7
    Yeah... your volume was converted to core storage form the Yosemite install and that was stopping you from nuking it. This command would have turned off the core storage and allowed you to manipulate it normally in Disk Util. Your Terminal option gets the job done too though. :)

    Code:
    diskutil cs revert disk1
     
  8. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #8

    Glad you got it resolved.
     
  9. jecox95 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2014
    #9
    mmm now I have plans for using the old drive to run windows, it pains me but but too many engineering programs only run on windows :mad:
     
  10. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #10
    Windows 7 Professional isn't bad. In fact, at times I prefer 7 Professional over Mavericks depending on the task.
     
  11. jecox95 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2014
    #11
    Oh yeah, I've used windows for years but just find it annoying now. Giving linux a try in a VM, the software I need can run in linux and I've always wanted to give it a try. Xubuntu if anyones interested
     
  12. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #12
    I do like the regular Ubuntu, but it does take a while to adjust to the heavier Unity UI over GNOME 2 that was used previously.
     
  13. SaSaSushi macrumors 68040

    SaSaSushi

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Location:
    Takamatsu, Japan
    #13
    Ubuntu + Cinnamon solved this problem for me. ;)
     
  14. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #14

    Now that I adopted Unity, I love it.
     
  15. bluewomble88 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    #15
    Help.

    I think I've done a similar thing.

    Yosemite FileVault was sucking my battery and I couldn't turn it off. So I booted into recovery and selected reinstall OSX. It failed and now I can't do anything. There is no way to select the Mac HD when trying again and there is no erase tab in disk utility. Please see attached image.

    I was chatting online to Apple for 2 hours last night and he basically said take it to the Apple Store. This is super inconvenient and I can't get an appointment for over a week.

    Is there anything else I can do to fix this?
     

    Attached Files:

  16. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #16

    You could try a disk like Parted Magic. I have used it on SSDs and it works great!
     
  17. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #17
    That screenshot is from recovery yes?

    In the Utilities menu launch Terminal and run the command below and tell me exactly what it says.

    Code:
    diskutil cs list
     
  18. bluewomble88 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    #18
    I don't understand.
    I can only choose disk utility, reinstall OSX, restore from Time Machine.

    What do I do?
     
  19. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #19
    [​IMG]

    While in that same screen look at the very top along the menu bar and you will see Utilities. Click that and from there select Terminal then run the command I gave you and tell me what it says. You can just take another phot of it like you did earlier rather than write down the output of the command.
     
  20. bluewomble88 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    #20
    This is it.
     

    Attached Files:

  21. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #21
    Very good... okay here is what you do.

    In that same Terminal window type in the command below and hit enter and that should kill the Macintosh HD logical volume group on there, then you should be able to format normally.

    Code:
    diskutil cs delete 5CE91DBE-36A9-45EA-A34F-407E56802077
     
  22. bluewomble88 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    #22
    This is what I get.
     

    Attached Files:

  23. bluewomble88 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    #23
    Oh my god, it worked!!!

    I had typed it in wrong before.

    Please, please, what do I do now? Step by step please as I'm a noob to this.

    I have a time machine back up on my external HD if that helps.
     
  24. bluewomble88 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    #24
    This is my screen.
     

    Attached Files:

  25. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #25
    Nice work! :D

    Okay. We are almost there. Go back to Disk Util and set it up exactly like you have it in your screenshot with the disk itself selected at the very top and Mac OS Extended (Journaled) selected in that drop down, then click erase at the lower right there. That will format the entire disk.

    Now quit Disk Util and attach your Time Machine disk then click restore from Time Machine backup back at that main recovery screen and follow the prompts to restore. That will get you back to where you were as of the last backup and back in business.
     

Share This Page