Have I installed any malicious program during a Mac OS software update?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by MXM, Oct 11, 2009.

  1. MXM macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2009
    #1
    Hello,

    I recently downloaded a Java Update 5 (as part of the regular Mac OS software update), but just after it was downloaded, Mac notified me some number check wasn't correct (I can't remember the detail) and said the downloaded software may have been tempered with. However, a few days later, Mac OS informed me available update again, and one of them was Java update. I chose to download it again, but instead of downloading it, I found it was directly installed. It seems the original downloaded Java update was installed.

    Now, I'm very concerned whether I've installed any dodgy program. I tried to re-download Java Update from Apple website, and installed it again. However, I'm still not sure whether there's any malicious program on my computer. Any suggestions?

    Thanks.
     
  2. stridemat Moderator

    stridemat

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    Try Clam Xav its a virus scanner, not sure if will do any good but definitely worth a shot!

    I would be highly surprised if anything you downloaded through Apple's Software update would be malicious.
     
  3. MXM thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2009
    #3
    Thanks. I don't know why the original download of the update was said to have some "incorrect number". I now remember I paused/stopped a download earlier and then updated the software again a few days later. Could it be that the Java update was paused and resumed that caused the number check to fail?

    Regarding Clam Xav, if I install this program, would it suck up all my CPU?

    Thanks
     
  4. MWPULSE macrumors 6502a

    MWPULSE

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2008
    Location:
    London
    #4
    I'm with this guy. It's highly unlikely that you would be contracting some form of bug thro apples website. You could always try redowloading again? Third time lucky n all that:)
     
  5. stridemat Moderator

    stridemat

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #5
    It doesn't use that much tbh, however why not run it at night, set it going just before you go to bed.
     

Share This Page