Have i killed my baby?

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by iRob213, Jan 15, 2009.

  1. iRob213 macrumors member

    iRob213

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2008
    Location:
    Southern Indiana
    #1
    I have a 12" iBook G3 500 I use basically while sitting round at nights watching TV for internet.

    Long story short, I upgraded to Firefox 3 and of course it would not run with OS X 10.3. I had bought a 10.4 upgrade on ebay for an other eMac I had and decidd to run the upgrade on the iBook.

    Everything loaded properly from an external DVD drive. Began the upgrade with no problems. It was going to take an hour or so to upgrade so I left for a short while.

    Come back to a blue screen and a pointer. Nothing else. Have tried rebooting, etc.. with no avail!!!!

    What have I done:confused: ...and most of all, can I get my little buddy back?:mad:
     
  2. Shawn D macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    #2
    If you have a copy of 10.3 (Panther) laying around I would give that a try. Thats all I can think of.
     
  3. animaxcg macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2008
    #3
    hold the "Apple" and "V" at startup
    that should fix it
     
  4. NewMacbookPlz macrumors 68040

    NewMacbookPlz

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    #4
    This would be a good route.

    Edit: To the above poster, what's that do?
     
  5. bobfitz14 macrumors 65816

    bobfitz14

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Location:
    Massachusetts
  6. mac.by.jake macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    #6

    Agreed; I hope you figure it out.
     
  7. iRob213 thread starter macrumors member

    iRob213

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2008
    Location:
    Southern Indiana
    #7
    Sorry about the title, but my wife has a huge PC laptop and always refers to my iBook as my baby!

    Did the Apple V thing and it's going through a bunch code and text?????

    Now giving me disk0s10: I/O error...doesn't look good, then back to the blue screen and pointer!

    See if I can find the 10.3 disk!
     
  8. animaxcg macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2008
  9. jpk32092 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Location:
    Boston
    #9
    I think you're in the wrong forum :p
     
  10. Sun Baked macrumors G5

    Sun Baked

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    #10
    Yep, I didn't think Casey Anthony had access to a computer.
     
  11. laithnaayem macrumors newbie

    laithnaayem

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    #11
    i know i'm in the wrong place but..

    i know i'm in the wrong place but.. i just joined macforums, and i want to ask a question, start a new thread about speaker issues. how do i do that? help!
     
  12. dvdhsu macrumors 6502a

    dvdhsu

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Location:
    Palo Alto, CA
    #12
    Do you have restore disks?
    If so, eject the disk by holding down the button below the trackpad(forgot what you call it) and while starting it up.
    Then, the disk will eject, allowing you to use your restore disks.
    Good Luck!
     
  13. rdowns macrumors Penryn

    rdowns

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
  14. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #14
    [​IMG]

    It sounds most like there is a logical error on your boot disk. I would personally concentrate on finding your system install/restore discs so that you can run disk utility and repair the disk. You can do it without the restore disc, but you'll need to use the command line in single user mode. If you think you're up to it, we can teach you how....

    I would definitely do that before stampeding off to an archive & install or something like that.
     
  15. iRob213 thread starter macrumors member

    iRob213

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2008
    Location:
    Southern Indiana
    #15
    Started in single user and run this from apple support website...

    If your computer still starts up to a blue screen, follow these steps.

    1. Start up the computer in Single-User Mode.
    2. Type: mount -uw /
    3. Press Return.
    4. Type:
    mv /Library/Preferences/com.apple.loginwindow.plist preferences2.old

    Tip: There is a space between ".plist" and "preferences".

    5. Press Return.
    6. Type:
    mv /Library/Preferences/com.apple.windowserver.plist preferences3.old

    7. Press Return.
    8. Type: reboot
    9. Press Return.
    --------------------------------------------
    Runs a little while then - "Panic: We are hanging here..."
     
  16. Sky Blue Guest

    Sky Blue

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    #16
    It won't. That'll just boot into verbose mode.
     
  17. iRob213 thread starter macrumors member

    iRob213

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2008
    Location:
    Southern Indiana
    #17
    I just ran the fsck it it said my volume was ok?

    exit and reboot...same panic error?
     
  18. animaxcg macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2008
    #18
    try to reinstall with a achieve install

    btw how much ram do you have
     
  19. animaxcg macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2008
    #19
    your right but sometimes it works better that safe boot
     
  20. iRob213 thread starter macrumors member

    iRob213

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2008
    Location:
    Southern Indiana
    #20
    It's maxed out on RAM.
    If I get time today, I'll look into the archive install, I have purchased original cd's from ebay though.:confused::confused:
     
  21. iRob213 thread starter macrumors member

    iRob213

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2008
    Location:
    Southern Indiana
    #21
    Week #2 Update
    I received the original Ibook cd's from ebay and tried booting from those. Still nothing. I figure my optical drive is screwed so more research.

    Decide to do firewire target drive thing to see if I have anything there. Emac to iBook and everything runs, at least in target mode.

    Run disk utility on ibook, can't mount drive?

    I decide to erase and install Jaguar from the emac. 2hrs later I'm good, decide to go ahead an upgrade to Panther another hour an a half.

    Long story short, I reboot the ibook, it goes to grey screen (apple logo) and sits there.

    Reboot again, same thing. Back to ftd, run disk utility on ibook again, now it says it can not unmount drive.

    Confused:eek:, me too! The closest Apple store is 3hrs away, but I'm not giving up!

    Suggestions anyone? Thanks
     
  22. linuxophile macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2005
    Location:
    here
    #22
    First a question: did you try to put your emac in target mode and boot the ibook from the hd of the emac? You need a firewire cable, which I imagine you have already.


    My impression is that the disk has failed (possibly in the logic part).
    One way to check it would be to boot in openfirmware and try to read it from there. Unfortunately I forgot the details but I did it in similar circumstances with my now-defunct imac g5. Google is your friend: google for "openfirmware mac" or similar.

    If you can run diskutility then you may try to see the smart status of the disk.

    Assuming that the hd is toast, you may simply try to replace it: I did that too (on other models, though). It is (should be) simple. A 30gb hd should not cost more than 40$ or so.
     
  23. ikermalli macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    #23
    Using something not for your model is always a bad idea, especially for software. Lol, all for firefox 3
     
  24. iRob213 thread starter macrumors member

    iRob213

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2008
    Location:
    Southern Indiana
    #24
    No kidding! That's what I get for trying to keep everything updated.

    I will do more research on the above post, if nothing else,I'll find a new HD and try again.

    I started the ibook in target mode and installed from the emac optical drive through a firewire cable.

    I have original ibook disks as well, but are they even OSX? Should I retry everything again, installing from those disc, or am I basically screwed?
     

Share This Page