Have you ever got a virus on your MAC?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by specops, Apr 10, 2010.

1. specops macrumors regular

So is it true MAC's don't get viruses? Have any of you ever gotten a virus? I have been using my mac for over 6 months and don't seem to have a virus so i was just wondering should i be worried?

2. appleguy123 macrumors 603

appleguy123

It's like asking "Have you ever seen a unicorn?" there are no viruses for mac as of yet.

3. notjustjay macrumors 603

notjustjay

There are no viruses for Mac OS X.

There do exist some trojans -- programs that claim to do one thing while in reality they do another. For example, some pirated copies of iWork contained "extra features". But if you're not downloading and running shady things, you shouldn't need to worry too much about it.

That's not to say that it'll never happen. But so far it hasn't been a problem, and if/when it does become a problem, you'll surely hear about it long before you experience it for yourself.

4. hamlinspahn macrumors regular

Mac since 2001

I've been using Macs since 2001 and never got a virus. But if you are worried ClamAV is a good solution.

5. specops thread starter macrumors regular

thanks for the replies. Still would like to hear from more people though, please leave some more comments!

6. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

r.j.s

No, because none exist.

There are threats out there, but I don't go installing pirated software and giving away my admin password to everything that asks.

7. rerelease macrumors regular

No viruses here and I'm into all kinds of shady business on my computer.

The key trick is that if something asks your password it better has to have good reasons for it. Generally it's background apps or things that start after booting that need admin access.

8. DewGuy1999 macrumors 68040

DewGuy1999