Have you heard of the Vupoint 6 Mega-Pixel Digital Camera?

Discussion in 'Product Recommendations/Reviews' started by Skilz34, Dec 8, 2004.

  1. Skilz34 macrumors member

    Oct 8, 2003
    I'm a college student and our school is offering this little guy to us at wholesale - $129. My question is, does anyone have this camera and is it worth the price? Here's the specs:


    let me know thanks!
  2. CanadaRAM macrumors G5


    Oct 11, 2004
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    I have never used this camera, but a few comments read between the lines of the (laughable) specs. The camera is a VuPoint DC-C310-VP

    It is not a 6MP Camera. The 6MP figure is an interpolated figure. It's a 3.2 MP CMOS sensor - dirt cheap and noisy. You can also bet the optics are of the lowest quality.

    The software included is Windows only. They don't claim Mac compatibility in any form. No optical zoom (ignore any specification that says "digital zoom")
    SD Memory card is extra cost. No mention of focus, manual or auto. I'll bet it is a fixed-focus job.

    What leads you to believe that $129 is the wholesale price? It is available elsewhere on the 'net retail for $124.99. And check this review and others from Amazon:

    "Not Even Worth $100 !, November 25, 2004
    Purchased this camera at Safeway for a hundred bucks. Great interface, nice form-factor, lots of features. Too bad it consistently takes blurred and grainy photos ! Returned this camera and got a refund."

    This is an absolute bottom-of-the-barrel camera mass produced in China.

    Personally, I wouldn't touch it.

    Do some research, MacRumorites. Don't get ripped off. "VuPoint 6 megapixel" in Google is all it takes.

    (PS for the nit-pickers: This is being sold by a web seller www.collegeholidays.com who does not provide an address or a telephone number, and who do not charge sales tax. collegeholidays.com say they are in California. Californians, what's the law in California re: a seller in CA selling to CA residents? However the domain is registered to Mary Cohen 1502 Ashberry Dr. Suite 150 Austin TX 78723 US. The one person listed at that address isn't M Cohen and they don't have a suite number, so this is possibly a mail drop address. Oh-oh: Here's a bad sign: the collegeholidays.com domain was created on Nov. 26 2004 -- yes, just 2 weeks ago. Chances of this seller being around 1 week after they have unloaded the last of their 143 cameras? Near nil.)
  3. Skilz34 thread starter macrumors member

    Oct 8, 2003

    thanks for that information. after I posted I found out exactly the stuff you did and it was rather funny. I'm not going to touch this thing, thanks again!
  4. jxyama macrumors 68040


    Apr 3, 2003
    funny. "interpolated" 6MP. you can interpolate all you want - why not a 100 MP? :rolleyes:

Share This Page