Having a Handbrake problem.

Discussion in 'iPad' started by tl01, Jun 20, 2010.

  1. tl01 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    #1
    I'm trying to put movies on my iPad. First I used Mac the Ripper to get the movie onto my computer. I can see that file and when I use the DVD player to play it... it works. Now I'm trying to use Handbrake to encode it and when I do so, it only takes 2 seconds and then it is done. Clearly that is not long enough b/c when I view the file in iTunes it doesn't work. What am I doing wrong?
    Thanks!
     
  2. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #2
    What settings did you use and did you open the VIDEO_TS folder or a single file?

    Are you sure the title is the correct one?

    Have you taken any look at the various Handbrake guides?

    Has MRoogle brought any more luck?
     
  3. tl01 thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    #3
    I am using the video_ts folder and the correct title. I have looked at some guides and can't figure out what I'm doing wrong.
     
  4. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #4
    Then please post a screen shot via CMD+SHIFT+4 and then SPACEBAR to select the Handbrake window. The screen shot is saved to the Desktop as .png file.

    You then can attach the screen shot to your next post if you want or use an online image hosting service.
     
  5. tl01 thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
  6. tl01 thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
  7. tl01 thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
  8. Capt T macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010
    #8
    Try a different movie that is not a Disney or a Sony one to start. I will look to see if there was anything that had to be done for toy story in order to make it work.


    Edit: also did you open the DVD in DVD player to make sure you had the correct track? Some DRM shows tracks with large timing but there really is nothing there. That is what it sounds like.
     
  9. Capt T macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010
  10. danpass macrumors 68020

    danpass

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2009
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    #10
    I agree with trying a different movie.

    I ripped various Blu-rays to my computer and BSG Mini Series was the only one that refused to be converted by Handbrake.

    Had to convert BSG with the Air Video app.
     
  11. tl01 thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    #11
    It plays on my computer.
     
  12. tl01 thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
  13. Eldiablojoe macrumors 6502a

    Eldiablojoe

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Location:
    West Koast
    #13
    Not to be an ass, but based on your screenshot, did you press the "Start" button?
     
  14. tl01 thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
  15. danpass macrumors 68020

    danpass

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2009
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    #15
    At least now you know it isn't Handbrake lol

    I ended up trying different versions of HB for BSG. Since it was the last conversion I didn't try other movies until eleventy billion attempts later :eek:
     

Share This Page