Having a hard time pulling the trigger.

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by klover, Dec 20, 2011.

1. klover macrumors 6502a

I've been lusting after a 15" MBP for about two months. Currently have an 11.6" MBA, iPad, 4S.

Since the MBA is my main computer - gasp! - I'm understandably feeling the restrictions of 2GB and an aging, low clocked 1.4 Ghz CPU.

I'm just having a heck of a time justifying the $2K pricetag. Refurbs are not offered in this current model so that's a no-go. Older models with the 330M are not sufficient for my casual-average gaming needs.

Financially, I can certainly afford it I'm just looking for some encouragement from anyone else who bit the bullet and has pleasant things to say about thier purchase.

2. GermanyChris macrumors 601

GermanyChris

What are you gaming on now since the MBA is your main computer?

I don't like big portable computers so I never look at the 15..I go from 13 to Mac Pro..

Realistically it'll be a good way to spend 2k..

3. heisenberg123 macrumors 603

heisenberg123

yup get it, no regrets here

4. Sirolway macrumors 6502

hmmm or you could wait until Q1 / Q2 next year to see if Apple release an Ivy Bridge 15" MBA with retina display. ... ok probably not all in the same packet but still - Ivy Bridge = much better graphics ... did someone mention gaming?

And a 15" MBA might be a good combination of power & small size

Sorry ;-)

5. teknikal90 macrumors 68030

teknikal90

If you're gaming, you will need to get a 15" with a dedicated gpu. hence, waiting for ivy bridge isn't a very good argument - the cpu has similar performance to current sandy bridge cpus and the gpu will not be used during gaming anyway. also, it's slated for Q2.
    what you have to look for is what series 7000 radeons may bring, and when.
    I have the current high end MBP and I love it. It plays modern games perfectly fine, with some tweaking.