Having difficulty copying and pasting.

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Anarch, Apr 7, 2015.

  1. Anarch macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2015
    #1
    Hi, please help.

    I'm trying to copy text from websites but keep running into the same problem, which is hitting and paste, and ending up with a space and no text.

    I have tried highlighting the text and then used shortcuts (Command + C and Command + V) as well as double-clicking my touchpad to get the drop down menu to appear to select copy and paste there, but to no avail.

    This is not something that has always happened with this Macbook Pro, so what could be the problem?

    My information:

    MacBook Pro
    15-inch, Late 2011

    Processor 2.2 GHz Intel Core i7
    Memory 4 GB 1333 MHz DDR3
    Graphics AMD Radeon HD 6750M 512 MB
    Software OS X 10.9.5 (13F1066)

    Thanks for any help given.
     
  2. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #2
    Some sites use JavaScript to prevent copying content. Can you share which site it is?
     
  3. Anarch thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2015
  4. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #4
  5. Anarch thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2015
    #5
    Okay, what I just discovered, is that I can get the text, once I hit the drop down menu in Power Point and instead of hitting paste, I hit paste special.

    It's working, but it's tedious. Anyway around this problem?
     
  6. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #6
    Did you try my suggestion?
     
  7. Anarch thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2015
  8. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #8
    Click here:
    Screen Shot 2015-04-07 at 12.02.48 PM.PNG
     
  9. Anarch thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2015
    #9
    O, I just tried using Safari. Copy/Paste is working fine using that browser. I was previously using Google Chrome.
     

Share This Page