Having Issue Installing Windows Vista On iMac

Discussion in 'iMac' started by jerzeygamer, Apr 24, 2011.

  1. jerzeygamer macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2011
    #1
    Hey everyone, I've been searching the internet for the last hour or so looking for a solution to this, but I'm just getting more frustrated. I'm trying to install Windows Vista Home Premium w/ Service Pack 1 on my iMac. Specs for my iMac are:

    Mac OS X Version 10.5.8
    Processor: 2.4 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo
    Memory: 1 GB 800 MHz DDR2 SDRAM

    Now, I had previously installed Windows 7 Ultimate 32-Bit on this computer using Boot Camp and it installed successfully. However, I had gotten the disk from my friend and started receiving notices saying the copy was not genuine. So I decided to restore my hard drive and install my own genuine copy of Windows Vista. This is where the problem starts - I selected Start Installation in Boot Camp, it restarted, and then took me to the black screen with the blinking underscore in the top left. I've tried holding Option while rebooting and choosing to boot from the Windows disc manually, but it didn't work. I tried resetting the PRAM as someone else suggested - that didn't work either. Finally, I restored my hard drive once again, popped in my Mac install disc, repaired the drive, and tried repeating the whole Boot Camp process - still getting that same damn screen!

    These are the only solutions that I've found for this problem in the last hour or so of trying to get this to work, and I'm really hoping there's something else I can do to get Windows installed successfully. I don't understand why it worked the first time and now it's not. I'm pissed because now I feel like I never should have restored the drive in the first place, and I have no idea where that Windows 7 disc is. Somebody please help me!! It will be greatly appreciated. :)
     
  2. maclaptop macrumors 65816

    maclaptop

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2011
    Location:
    Western Hemisphere
    #2
    I never put another OS on any of my Macs, it defeats the purpose
     
  3. jerzeygamer thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2011
    #3
    Thanks for the reply, but that doesn't help me out much. Hopefully someone else on this forum will be a little more understanding. And the only reason I want to install Windows on my iMac is because my PC broke down, and now I can't play some of my games.
     
  4. toolbox macrumors 68020

    toolbox

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Location:
    Australia (WA)
    #4
    Ok use the boot camp assistant to restore the hdd back to one single Mac volume. Reboot it.

    Run the bootcamp assistant again, make the partition the way you want it (make sure the vista DVD or what ever ) is in the DVD drive. There is a option there to restart the mac after you have made the partition.

    It should boot for you there. If not boot the mac back up and go into system prefs and select start up disk and do it that way.

    Just remember that the mac will not show it in the boot picker if it isn't bootable.
     
  5. MrWillie, Apr 25, 2011
    Last edited: Apr 25, 2011

    MrWillie macrumors 65816

    MrWillie

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Location:
    Starlite Starbrite Trailer Court
    #5
    If you installed Win7 successfully, obviously you know what you are doing, but you don't state the type of Vista disc... Is it a burned copy or a restore disc? If it is a burned copy, is it bootable? Did you update your OS after restoring? I don't know your current finacial situation, but may I offer three suggestions ?
    1) Purchase a Snow Lep disc and upgrade (Clean install) $29. Try installing Vista again. (Snow Lep has more Windows support)
    2) Upgrade your ram. You should have a slot free. Wont help you install Windows, but even upgrading to two gig will make a performance difference.
    3) http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...&DEPA=0&Order=BESTMATCH&Description=win+7+oem Buy a Windows 7 OEM disc, if you want the Home version and can skip the Ultimate, it's only $99.

    Who makes the best PC's ? Apple. Some of us have to use Windows only programs from time to time to earn a living. I would rather deal with Windows than try to explain to th ex why I can't make this months child support payment on time.
     
  6. Raikun macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    #6
    Who makes the best PCs, apple?

    LOL. I'm a mac user/owner and future 2011 imac owner but not even I am this deluded
     
  7. MrWillie, Apr 25, 2011
    Last edited: Apr 25, 2011

    MrWillie macrumors 65816

    MrWillie

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Location:
    Starlite Starbrite Trailer Court
    #7
    Okay, I'll bite. Who makes the best PC ? Who has the best build quality, English speaking tech support, and brick and mortar stores that you can bring your machine in and get it configured and fine tuned ? What about resale value? Longevity ? Yes you can buy a boutique machine that will run faster than a mac, but what will it cost, and in two years when the parts are yesterday's news, what will it be worth ? When this boutique goes out of business, who will give you support ?
     
  8. archer75 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Location:
    Oregon
    #8
    I do. Well I do build all my own. But really it's irrelevant, they all use the same parts. Parts anyone can buy.
     
  9. Mac-converted macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    #9
    I agree 100%. What makes a computer "the best" is more than just the specs of the machine. It is the service, resale, and ease of use that make the mac appealing to me.
    I love my Imac 27, and although it is not a light machine, I use it in many rooms of my home for many reasons. To me it is truly in-home-portable!
     
  10. jerzeygamer thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2011
    #10
    It's a genuine copy that I bought at Best Buy, so it should be bootable.
     
  11. MrWillie, Apr 25, 2011
    Last edited: Apr 25, 2011

    MrWillie macrumors 65816

    MrWillie

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Location:
    Starlite Starbrite Trailer Court
    #11
    I am also assuming it's the 32 bit Vista, right?
    What are you doing differently than when you put on Win 7 ?
    You might want to bite the bullet and buy a Win 7 OEM disk. I know Vista 32 works on your iMac, and with some tweaking 64 bit will too, personally I skipped Vista. It's an iMac 8,1 correct?
     
  12. jerzeygamer thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2011
    #12
    No, it's a 20" iMac 2.4. Could this be the issue?
     

Share This Page