Having problem with 34" AOC 21:19 screen

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Macmomomo, Feb 22, 2015.

  1. Macmomomo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    #1
    I have bought myself a great 34" ( 3440 x 1440 resolution ) AOC screen I am trying to hook up to my Macbook Pro Retina mid 2012. The first thunderbolt to Display port cord I tried the screen kinda flickered sometimes. So I bought 2 different cords but then It was no picture at all .

    I see that the Macbook Pro Retina only supports up to :

    The maximum resolution supported on an external display is 2560x1600.

    But someone told me it could support 3440 x 1440 with running it in 30 hz instead of 60 hz ( I have seen it worked but with the flicker every 5-10 min )

    So can someone tell me what I have to do to make the screen work in 3440 x 1440 ? What kind of setup / preset / driver do I have to use ?


    Thank you so much for help here people :)
     
  2. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #2
    If apple states that that RMBP only supports 2560x1600, you'll not have much success in getting 3440 x 1440

    You stated you tried using it at 30 hz but that produces unpleasant flickering, there's really nothing you can do. You're trying to use a product that apple statd is incompatible
     
  3. philipbroadhead macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2015
    #3
    yeah, i'm having this issue with a late 2012 MBPr and a samsung S34E790C.

    i'm connecting the two through HDMI (the displayport is being used by my windows PC) and can only manage 3440x1440 with 30hz, and like the OP, i'm getting screen flickers (going black and refreshing) at random intervals. sometimes it can be every few seconds, then maybe a minute without them.

    with switchresx i can force 3440x1440 at 50hz but with the same results (but obviously a faster refresh rate :D).

    my confusion comes with the fact i'd connected this macbook up to an LG ultrawide monitor, same resolution, through thunderbolt and i managed a nice, smooth, flickerless 3440x1440 at 50hz.

    could the issue be with the monitor, or the slower interface of HDMI? i KNOW this macbook can drive the resolution, i'm just surprised that HDMI is so flickery and unstable.
     
  4. philipbroadhead macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2015
    #4
    just as a follow up, i've just connected my macbook through displayport to the monitor and am enjoying full res at 50hz (no flicker) and managing to connect the windows PC up through hdmi and force 60hz with a custom res.

    so yes, it's possible.
     
  5. Macmomomo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    #5

    Can you send me the link to the display port cabel you use ? And do you have to set some other screen options / settings to make it work ?

    Thanks
     
  6. philipbroadhead macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2015
    #6
    i just used the one that came with the tv and the accompanying dp to mini dp adapter.

    i use a program called switchresx where you can set custom resolutions and refresh rates but to be honest, i think the 50hz would be carried fine over displayport.
     
  7. Macmomomo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    #7

    Ah !

    So I do have to use the program switchresx to make it work ?

    Can you say what settings you have yours on ? If you use the 34" AOC

    Ill try this out. Thanks !
     
  8. dusk007 macrumors 68040

    dusk007

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    #8
    You could conceivably do it by hand but switchResX is just a tool that gives you more options than you find in the System Pref Display pane.
     
  9. Macmomomo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    #9

    So the screen finds the macbook pro without switchresx on yours ?

    It does not do that on mine, I am offshore right now, so I cant test it with Switch in 10 days.
     
  10. Macmomomo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    #10


    Do you use that program ? Or what kind of settings do you use ?
     

Share This Page