Having problem with my Performance MX mouse with Mac Pro

Macmomomo

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Nov 10, 2009
24
0
I have a 4core 2013 with 32 gig ram and the Logitech MX performance mouse is "skipping" / "stands still" for a second here and there. This computer should not have that problem right ? Is this a known problem or something ? Do not have any issues with using the same mouse on my late 2011 iMac. Its often if the computer has been idle for some time.
 

SandboxGeneral

Moderator emeritus
Sep 8, 2010
26,063
9,246
Detroit
Have you tried turning the mouse off, unplugging the dongle, plugging it back in and turning the mouse back on when that happens?

Which version of OS X are you running? Do you have the latest version of Logitech software installed?
 

Macmomomo

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Nov 10, 2009
24
0
OS 10.9.5 Yeah, tried everything like that. And Yeah, just downloaded the software from logitech. Strange stuff. I use the K750 windows edition but I disconnected this as well to see if that was the problem. Ah! It feels like and old computer when Its doling this. I might go over to using a mouse with cord :(
 

w33z3r

macrumors member
Jul 20, 2011
43
2
I would sometimes have this same problem when I had WiFi turned on. Turning WiFI on/off would fix the problem for me though.

Obvious answer but just to make sure have you checked the bottom of the mouse to make sure nothing is blocking the laser?
 

VAGDesign

macrumors 6502
Feb 1, 2014
344
187
Greece
I have this mouse (Logitech Performance MX) on my Mac Pro and also on my PC. In both cases the first thing to do, is to get the latest Logitech Control Center. In Safari on OS X Yosemite and El Capitan I see a tiny lag compared to my PC and on Mavericks. On general use it is a tiny faster on my PC (with the same settings on PC/Mac). Maybe 10-20miliseconds difference.

Both desks have same surfaces and mousepads. Both mouses same batteries and charge.

My conclusion is that either the drivers (from Logitech or native bundled in the Operating Systems) have problems on OS X, or that Apple needs to optimize OS X for third party mouses.

Using Logitech Illuminated Keyboard (with cord) on both machines, there is also lag on this form I've just replied here on Yosemite and Safari. From Windows 10 or 8.1 on both Mac and PC, would be faster with no lag at all.
In this case, either WYSIWYG script on MacRumors has a bug or Safari conflicts with such scripts.

A lot of variables on different interfaces bring a lot of conflicts and problems since the dawn of computing ;) They are machines with mistakes since people who made them aren't gods...
 

Macmomomo

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Nov 10, 2009
24
0
I have this mouse (Logitech Performance MX) on my Mac Pro and also on my PC. In both cases the first thing to do, is to get the latest Logitech Control Center. In Safari on OS X Yosemite and El Capitan I see a tiny lag compared to my PC and on Mavericks. On general use it is a tiny faster on my PC (with the same settings on PC/Mac). Maybe 10-20miliseconds difference.

Both desks have same surfaces and mousepads. Both mouses same batteries and charge.

My conclusion is that either the drivers (from Logitech or native bundled in the Operating Systems) have problems on OS X, or that Apple needs to optimize OS X for third party mouses.

Using Logitech Illuminated Keyboard (with cord) on both machines, there is also lag on this form I've just replied here on Yosemite and Safari. From Windows 10 or 8.1 on both Mac and PC, would be faster with no lag at all.
In this case, either WYSIWYG script on MacRumors has a bug or Safari conflicts with such scripts.

A lot of variables on different interfaces bring a lot of conflicts and problems since the dawn of computing ;) They are machines with mistakes since people who made them aren't gods...

Could it be that I use the K750 for windows on the mac ? Or is the the same keyboard, just different buttons from cmd and alt / windows button and so on.

Hmmm.

Fortgot to mention that the keyboard also lags from time to tome, like 2-4 seconds..

And I have tried to use 2 different usb dongles to see that the fault did not lay there.
 

Macmomomo

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Nov 10, 2009
24
0
Could it be that I use the K750 for windows on the mac ? Or is the the same keyboard, just different buttons from cmd and alt / windows button and so on.

Hmmm.

Fortgot to mention that the keyboard also lags from time to tome, like 2-4 seconds..

And I have tried to use 2 different usb dongles to see that the fault did not lay there.

The thing is that it is often a second or 2 total stop before the mouse starts up again. Hope its not the Mac Pro that is the problem.
 

Statscop

macrumors newbie
Mar 21, 2012
2
0
I have a 4core 2013 with 32 gig ram and the Logitech MX performance mouse is "skipping" / "stands still" for a second here and there. This computer should not have that problem right ? Is this a known problem or something ? Do not have any issues with using the same mouse on my late 2011 iMac. Its often if the computer has been idle for some time.
Same issue here (3.5 i7, 24GB RAM, OS 10.11.1 --- using latest Logitech Control Center). My MX Performance mouse and wireless keyboard display terrible lag. Text selection using the mouse is a joke. Even basic window control can be dicey. I've done all the power cycling, resetting, reunifying, plugging/unplugging suggested. There is a problem on either Apple's or Logitech's end. It needs resolution now.
 

lietsche

macrumors regular
Apr 4, 2006
138
46
Same issue here (3.5 i7, 24GB RAM, OS 10.11.1 --- using latest Logitech Control Center). My MX Performance mouse and wireless keyboard display terrible lag. Text selection using the mouse is a joke. Even basic window control can be dicey. I've done all the power cycling, resetting, reunifying, plugging/unplugging suggested. There is a problem on either Apple's or Logitech's end. It needs resolution now.
I had the same problem on a 2013 MacPro.
When I have a USB device connected beneath the dongle it is really obvious, especially with hard drives and active data transfers. Since I leave the USB port beneath the dongle empty I have no issues.
It should not be like this, but the workaround works for me, even though I lose 2 USB ports in total in order to be able to work with this mouse flawlessly. I have a usb multiplier anyway, so it is not a big deal for me.
 
Jul 4, 2015
4,488
2,548
Paris
I had the same problem on a 2013 MacPro.
When I have a USB device connected beneath the dongle it is really obvious, especially with hard drives and active data transfers. Since I leave the USB port beneath the dongle empty I have no issues.
It should not be like this, but the workaround works for me, even though I lose 2 USB ports in total in order to be able to work with this mouse flawlessly. I have a usb multiplier anyway, so it is not a big deal for me.
Standard USB > wireless interference. Even worse if you have a USB 3 card.
 
Register on MacRumors! This sidebar will go away, and you'll see fewer ads.