Having problems with my Intuos on my Mac

Discussion in 'Design and Graphics' started by aulorelle, Jun 25, 2008.

  1. aulorelle macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    #1
    Hello! So, here's the rundown. I just got my sweet sweet lovin' that is my MacBook Pro. A couple of friends of mine are writing a webcomic and have asked me to draw it for them. I am pretty psyched about it after reading what they have so far. So, I set up my tablet on my new MacBook Pro and went piddling around with it on my Adobe CS3 suite to get the feel of it.
    Previously, when I used my tablet with my PC, there was no lag. It was pretty dead on with my strokes. Now, with my Mac, I am noticing QUITE a bit of lag. I mean, I can still get a decent picture out, but it's not what I used to produce on my PC.
    What I am wondering is if there is something, anything, to be done about it. Do I need to recalibrate something or reinstall something? I'm not exactly Mac savvy, so I would love to hear from anyone who might have a suggestion.

    Thanks!!
     
  2. klymr macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Location:
    Utah
    #2
  3. jerryrock macrumors 6502

    jerryrock

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2007
    Location:
    Amsterdam, NY
    #3
    It's probably just the driver that needs updating, I have not had any problems with 10.5.3 and Wacom Cintiq.

    Could be a memory issue?

    Also note that use of the Force VM Buffering in Photoshop CS3 has been known to cause delays in painting.
     
  4. mixel macrumors 65816

    mixel

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Location:
    Leeds, UK
    #4
    I use an intuos on a 1.8Ghz Macbook running CS3 with no significant lag. (though it depends on the brush type, canvas size, etc)

    Something is afoot with your system.. New drivers like the others have said sounds good..
     
  5. aulorelle thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    #5
    Wow, thanks for the advice guys! I will definitely try downloading the new driver and see how that works. My machine has a 2.5GHz Intel Core 2 Duo processor and 4GB RAM so I don't think it's having problems there. It's probably just the driver. Thanks again for all your help guys!
     
  6. klymr macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Location:
    Utah
    #6
    Don't forget to let us know how it all pans out!
     

Share This Page