Having some trouble Safari 5.0.6

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Mori1, May 22, 2013.

  1. Mori1 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    Location:
    MidWest
    #1
    I really hope someone can help me. I have 2007 MBP that I installed OSX 10.5.8 on 4 weeks ago. Everything was fine until last week when Safari started freezing A Lot. This would cause firefox to slow down and start freezing too. Finally, the only way I could stop the madness was to shut the computer down. I have tried the disk utility program but it found nothing wrong. I tried reinstalling Safari, that worked for a day and half. I went a day just using firefox with no problem but when I tried to open Safari, it took forever to load and I couldn't quit the program. I finally had to shut the computer down. I use firefox but I prefer Safari is there anything that will fix this headache.:(
     
  2. justperry macrumors 604

    justperry

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Location:
    In the core of a black hole.
    #2
    Seems more like you have too little RAM and your virtual memory isn't working correctly.
     
  3. Mori1 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    Location:
    MidWest
    #3
    I haven't added any ram just the 2GB it came with.
     
  4. justperry macrumors 604

    justperry

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Location:
    In the core of a black hole.
    #4
    Open Activity Monitor if it gets slow and look if you have many pageouts, if so more RAM might help.
    But, it is strange the machine locks up.
    I myself have and had disabled Virtual Memory, the problem with this is that if you run out of physical RAM the system first gets slow until you can't do anything anymore and it eventually crashes since it has nowhere to write the Data to.
    So, if you didn't disable it it seems like something more is going on.

    You could also install a program (Menu Extra) like MenuMeters, it is a preference pane and you can configure it to show RAM in the Menu Bar.
     
  5. Mori1 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    Location:
    MidWest
    #5
    I open activity monitor but I have no idea how to read the data.
     
  6. justperry macrumors 604

    justperry

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Location:
    In the core of a black hole.
    #6
    Make a screenshot of it and post here, Command-Shift-4, then hit spacebar and click on window.

    You need the System Memory Tab, look at pageouts.
     
  7. Mori1 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    Location:
    MidWest
  8. justperry macrumors 604

    justperry

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Location:
    In the core of a black hole.
    #8
    Is this screenshot from when it is slow or not, if not you first have to wait until it gets slow and then look if there are pageouts.

    If it is slow now then clearly there is something else going on.
     
  9. Mori1, May 23, 2013
    Last edited: May 23, 2013

    Mori1 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    Location:
    MidWest
  10. justperry macrumors 604

    justperry

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Location:
    In the core of a black hole.
    #10
    So , not RAM which is the problem.

    Make a new User Account in Users & Groups preferably an Admin Account, restart and log into the new Account, if there is no problem there the problem is in your normal User Account and can be solved.
     
  11. Mori1 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    Location:
    MidWest
    #11
    Don't understand how this will fix the safari freezing issue?
     
  12. justperry macrumors 604

    justperry

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Location:
    In the core of a black hole.
    #12
    A new User Account is clean, without running lots of extras and with clean settings.
    This IS many times one of the best ways to see if the User Account is affected or if it is a System wide problem, it takes mere minutes to do so, then if the issue is not there your normal User Account has problems which are only a problem in that Account only, if that is the case you then can find the problem causing this.
     
  13. Mori1 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    Location:
    MidWest
    #13
    I went accounts in system preferences but not sure how to set up new account.
     
  14. justperry macrumors 604

    justperry

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Location:
    In the core of a black hole.
    #14
    Open the Users & groups Preference Pane, click the Padlock if it is locked and enter password, then click the + just above the padlock, that's about it, but do also check the allow user to administer this computer.
     
  15. Mori1 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    Location:
    MidWest
    #15
    So I setup a new admin account and safari acted fine. I went back to my old account, started safari and problem.
     
  16. justperry macrumors 604

    justperry

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Location:
    In the core of a black hole.
    #16
    Move the following file to the desktop but quit Safari first, if that helped delete the file, if not put it back.

    /Users/****/Library/Preferences/com.apple.Safari.plist

    Replace **** with your user name.

    Edit: If that did not help go to your Library Folder, inside is a Cache Folder, delete the meta dat>Safari Cache Folder and the com.apple.safari cache folder.
     
  17. Mori1 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    Location:
    MidWest
  18. justperry macrumors 604

    justperry

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Location:
    In the core of a black hole.
    #18
    No, of course not, in the affected one.
     
  19. Mori1, May 23, 2013
    Last edited: May 23, 2013

    Mori1 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    Location:
    MidWest
    #19
    For some strange I wasn't getting any hits when I com.apple.Safari.plist. So I search the file individually and I found it but I also found com.apple.Safari.RSS.plist
     
  20. justperry macrumors 604

    justperry

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Location:
    In the core of a black hole.
    #20
    In Finder click on Go then hold the option key, you will see Library appear, click on it, inside it is your preferences folder, open it and scroll down until you see com.apple.Safari.plist
     
  21. Mori1 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    Location:
    MidWest
    #21
    Okay, I went to the library folder and found the cache folder but there is no meta dat>Safari cache folder or a com.apple.safari cache folder.
     
  22. justperry macrumors 604

    justperry

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Location:
    In the core of a black hole.
    #22
    Oops, sorry, I was looking on my 2012 ML Mini.

    Just looked on my Powerbook with 10.5.8, they are definitely there.

    Be sure to look in your Home Library Folder, not the main Library Folder.

    The main Library Folder is at the root level, it is not there.
    Look in /Users/yourusername/Library/Caches
     

    Attached Files:

  23. Mori1 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    Location:
    MidWest
    #23
    Okay, I was looking in the main library. I found the metadata folder and inside was ical and Safari folders. So I should delete the Safari folder?
     
  24. justperry macrumors 604

    justperry

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Location:
    In the core of a black hole.
    #24
    Yes, caches are safe to delete, did you also find the com.apple.safari folder inside the Caches folder, delete that one as well.
     
  25. Mori1 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    Location:
    MidWest
    #25
    Okay, deleted the Safari and com.apple.Safari folders.
     

Share This Page