Having trouble connecting iPhone to home router

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by luminosity, Dec 30, 2008.

  1. luminosity macrumors 65816

    luminosity

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    Location:
    Arizona
    #1
    I just got an iPhone today, and my iPhone doesn't seem to want to work with my local router. I entered in the password correctly, but it seems to be hanging no matter which website I try to have it go to.

    It also says, "Welcome to AT&T high speed internet access..." at the top, and I'm not sure if that's leftover from before, or if it's supposed to be there.

    And finally, unlike when I first got it, when I enter in a partial address, and the menu drops down with a possible completion (MS for MSNBC.com, for example), it doesn't seem to be doing anything when I tap on the suggested address.
     
  2. benflick macrumors 68020

    benflick

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    #2
    Check to see if the iPhone got wet through the Water Sensor (see pic below)

    [​IMG]
     
  3. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #3
    Can you please provide some details? What kind of router? What kind of security settings?
     
  4. luminosity thread starter macrumors 65816

    luminosity

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    Location:
    Arizona
    #4
    Sure. Router is a linksys, and security is WEP. Pretty standard stuff, I think. The password was accepted, and it was connected (I think, at least), but I couldn't visit any website.
     
  5. benflick macrumors 68020

    benflick

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    #5
    Did you check the water sensor? I purchased another iPhone today (backup) and I am experiencing the exact same problem. (The water sensor is tripped)
     
  6. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #6
    No comment on the water sensor thing (I have no idea, honestly... I wouldn't expect water intrusion to cause this specific problem, but who knows)...

    I would at least try some other form of security / encryption. See if the router and the iPhone can talk unsecured. If it does, then the issue you're having is probably related to how your Linksys handles WEP passwords, whcih can be a little tricky (WEP really doesn't have good standards for how the passkey is supposed to be communicated between devices, and this causes trouble.

    Also is there any chance you've enabled MAC filtering and forgotten about it?

    Also consider moving to WPA or WPA2, if it works without security, and all your devices support WPA. WPA does much better in this regard.
     
  7. luminosity thread starter macrumors 65816

    luminosity

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    Location:
    Arizona
    #7
    I had no idea there was such a thing, and no idea where to look.
     
  8. luminosity thread starter macrumors 65816

    luminosity

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    Location:
    Arizona
    #8
    Will definitely consider WPA.

    Right now, I can't seem to get any internet access at all, so I'm pretty baffled. Even switching to Edge and 3G gives me nothing (and it worked fine just a bit ago).

    Edit: Sorry about the double post.
     
  9. benflick macrumors 68020

    benflick

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    #9
    See picture in my above post.
    Shine a flashlight in the Headphone jack and look inside it. If there is any pink/red on the bottom of the headphone jack, the phone got wet, (or at least the headphone jack did.)
    ;)
     
  10. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #10
    Look down the barrel of the headphone port. You should see a white paper-like surface at the bottom. If you see read, instead, it indicates there's been likely water intrusion.

    Have you tried telling your iPhone to forget the Wifi network? Once you do that, do EDGE and 3G still not work? If so, then I am starting to agree with benflick and this probably has nothing to do with your router.

    Also if the water sensor is not tripped, try the other obvious things... try a restore of firmware via iTunes.
     
  11. luminosity thread starter macrumors 65816

    luminosity

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    Location:
    Arizona
    #11
    Will take the suggested steps.

    Any idea why my iPhone is suddenly not accepting any input on things like tapping on the bookmarks given, or websites I've already been to?

    I just got this earlier today.
     
  12. benflick macrumors 68020

    benflick

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    #12
    Real quick, try going to Settings>General>Reset> Reset Network Settings
     
  13. luminosity thread starter macrumors 65816

    luminosity

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    Location:
    Arizona
    #13
    The reset helped. It's accepting auto-complete again and visiting websites via 3G.

    Still doesn't help with actually connecting to my router, but I'll try changing to WPA.
     
  14. luminosity thread starter macrumors 65816

    luminosity

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    Location:
    Arizona
    #14
    Everything has been fixed up. Thanks for the help :).
     
  15. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #15
    Glad to hear it! :) What did you have to do to get the router working?
     
  16. luminosity thread starter macrumors 65816

    luminosity

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    Location:
    Arizona
    #16
    Started from scratch. Reset the router to factory settings, and used WPA security. Much better that way.
     
  17. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #17
    Ahh, good. WEP should be workable, but as it is really not secure, WPA is a much better choice (only caveat being Nintendo's grrrrrrr issues with supporting it on some of their devices :rolleyes: ). So glad it was an excuse for you to upgrade. :)
     

Share This Page