Having trouble installing OSX on Mirrordoor G4

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by JazzleSAURUS, Oct 5, 2009.

  1. JazzleSAURUS macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2009
    #1
    Hey guys,
    I've got two different copies of retail OSX, and a G4 mirror door that i'm having trouble installing OSX on.

    I've tried booting from both optical drives, and i've tried a liveboot disk with ubuntu on it, but i just get the flashing, 'no bootable media' icon.

    I've played with jumper settings on the harddrives and optical drives with no luck.

    If anyone has ideas or further questions, let me know.

    Thanks,
    Jake
     
  2. Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #2
    2 different "copies"?

    What color are the disks?
     
  3. JazzleSAURUS thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2009
    #3
    They are copies of retail disks my friend has.

    I also threw in the OSX install disk that came with my MBP to see if anything different would happen, (i realize it won't work because of the hardware ID,) but the same thing happened.
     
  4. Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
  5. JazzleSAURUS thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2009
    #5
    shouldn't they at least show up either way?
    The no bootable media is the problem that I want to tackle first.
    Any ideas on that?
     
  6. i.shaun macrumors 6502a

    i.shaun

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Location:
    Canada
    #6
    Are they discs for an Intel mac?

    The old mac you have could be a powerPC one. I'm guessing it is since I've never heard of it before lol


    They're 2 different things, it would be like popping the intel disc into a PS3, you cannot install anything even if it shows up.
     
  7. JazzleSAURUS thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2009
    #7
    I thought they were the same, osx working on G4 and above as long as it's past the 8XXmhz (867?) mark.
     
  8. JazzleSAURUS thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2009
    #8
    Well i hope someone who has the same problem encounters this thread, turns out i had to install from a PPC machine.
    that's all.
     

Share This Page