having trouble streaming HD content

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Romeo604, Jun 1, 2011.

  1. Romeo604 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2005
    #1
    Hi everyone

    I am having trouble with streaming online content which is HD 1920 x 1200. It never buffers in time to view content. My computer can stream 720 and under, any suggestions?

    I have ADSL from a wireless router/modem and its the same even if I plug it in directly with an ethernet cable. My plan includes at least 15 Mbps download speed. Any help would be appreciated!
     
  2. alust2013 macrumors 601

    alust2013

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Location:
    On the fence
    #2
    Sometimes the servers for stuff like that don't have the bandwidth to allow streaming to start without a pretty big buffer first. 1080p content takes a lot of bandwidth, so you will just have to let it buffer for a while before watching.
     
  3. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #3
    Test your connection via www.speedtest.net and report back.
    Then also include a link or two to the 1080p content for us to test.
     
  4. Romeo604 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2005
    #4
    [​IMG]

    simply trying to stream hd 1080 trailers from apple it will never buffer.
     
  5. blevins321 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2010
    Location:
    Winnipeg, MB
    #5
    Good ping speed, but the other speeds are really terrible. What sort of network setup are you using?
     
  6. Romeo604 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2005
    #6
    I am using a Siemens Gigaset SE567 Router/Modem in one. It is the only modem offered by my ISP: Telus.

    I am also having problems with my airport. I have checked recent posts about this problem but none of the solutions work.

    I have to manually turn off and turn on the airport as my internet freezes. This occurs every 5 minutes or so. Sometimes internet is sometimes its ridiculously slow in the evening... as I think someone my be using my network? Either way my airport is giving me headache!


     
  7. blevins321 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2010
    Location:
    Winnipeg, MB
    #7
    Too bad that's the only one offered. Does your wireless have a password on it? If not, it's quite possible your neighbors are using your internet. I'd call Telus for support..they might replace it for you. For comparison, I just ran Speedtest on my AT&T iPhone over 3G, and it came back with 3.21Mbps download and 1.25 upload.
     

Share This Page