Having trouble with bootcamp on 2015 MacBook

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by gn.13, Aug 17, 2015.

  1. gn.13 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    #1
    Hi,

    I'm trying to install Windows 10 on my MacBook however, when I get to the Windows install screen both my mouse and keyboard don't work so I can't continue my installation.

    Currently running boot camp 5.1.4, and all updates installed.
     
  2. keysofanxiety macrumors 604

    keysofanxiety

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    #2
    Have you tried a USB mouse/keyboard? Just any old two-button beast and shoddy USB keyboard should do the trick, just so you can get the install done & the Win10 Bootcamp drivers applied.
     
  3. gn.13 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    #3
    One port :D.

    Can I remove the USB with windows on it, after I get to the install screen ?
     
  4. keysofanxiety macrumors 604

    keysofanxiety

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    #4
    Whoops, forgot it only had one port. :oops:

    There's a good question. Can't do any harm to try. If it goes drastically wrong you can rerun the install anyway. I assume you don't have a USB hub or anything?
     
  5. gn.13 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    #5
    Nope, was waiting for Hub + but might have to buy the Apple one now
     
  6. Shirasaki macrumors 603

    Shirasaki

    Joined:
    May 16, 2015
    #6
    First you need an apple adapter for this machine.

    Then you will need to use full keyboard navigation to complete the whole install. Mouse is not necessary. :)

    Good luck.
     
  7. dusk007 macrumors 68040

    dusk007

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    #7
    Sometimes also just restarting a couple times works. I remember when installing Win 8 on my 15" 2013, there also was no input working sometimes, but other times it did work.
     
  8. gn.13 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    #8
    Thanks for the advice will give it ago today. :)
     
  9. tejota1911 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    #9
    Windows 10 installed fine on my rMB, no externals needed.
     
  10. gn.13 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    #10
    Saw similar problems with other rMP, Apple says they know about the issue hopefully it will work when I try again.
     

Share This Page