HB 0.9.5/Nightlies + Blu-Ray = Lighting Issue.(UPDATED)

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by cwazytech, Jun 30, 2011.

  1. cwazytech, Jun 30, 2011
    Last edited: Jul 28, 2011

    cwazytech macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Location:
    Colorado
    #1
    I've recently upgraded to Handbrake version 0.9.5 and I've started encoding using the Apple TV 2 preset. I've noticed that it seems to cause lighting issues with the finished product. Throughout the movies, some scenes appear dark and then all of a sudden light up. Then it darkens again. Anyone else having these issues?

    UPDATE: So the issue isn't Handbrake. It's a particular Blu-Ray movie, and Quicktime/iTunes. The final product plays fine on the Apple TV and VLC. It's only when I play the movie in iTunes or Quicktime that the lighting issue occurs, and I'm not sure why. I've yet to test it on my iPhone.
     
  2. cwazytech, Jul 1, 2011
    Last edited: Jul 1, 2011

    cwazytech thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Location:
    Colorado
    #2
    So, the movie plays well on the iPhone. Just not in iTunes or Quicktime. ???
     
  3. spacepower7 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    May 6, 2004
    #3
    The Mac uses QuickTime to playback video and the iOS devices use A/V foundation which it newer. Final Cut Pro X is using the new av system.

    In the past there were issues with the QuickTime gamma atom but that would affect the whole movie not just certain scenes.

    Not sure what your problem is?

    What is the format of your Blu-ray? Mpeg-2, Mpeg-4, or VC-1?

    You can use mediainfo to check.
     
  4. cwazytech thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Location:
    Colorado
    #4
    The whole movie is affected. Throughout the entire movie(Star Trek) scenes will darken and lighten as I'm watching them. Only through iTunes & Quicktime, though. It plays perfectly fine on VLC, my Apple TV, and iPhone. Do you think there's a possibility of an update that would normalize the playback iTunes/Quicktime?
     
  5. spacepower7 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    May 6, 2004
    #5
    Yeah, that means that it is a QuickTime problem since VLC and iOS use different playback engines. Not sure if Lion will help. If you can, try to play it back in QuickTime 7.6.x and see if the results are like iTunes or VLC.
     
  6. cwazytech thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Location:
    Colorado
    #6
    Tried that, and the problem still occurs. Hopefully an update will fix it.
     
  7. cwazytech thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Location:
    Colorado
    #7
    Well, it appears that the issue is with version 0.9.5. When I try encoding with 0.9.4, the issue disappears. I wonder if anyone else sees this, though.
     
  8. dynaflash macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    #8
    Go grab a nightly and try that. 0.9.5 is quite old now. Give a nightly a try.
     
  9. chrono1081 macrumors 604

    chrono1081

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    Isla Nublar
    #9
    I haven't seen that one, but I get videos that used to play fine, but suddenly have no volume when home shared.

    It used to be a big issue until the last Apple TV update, then it got fixed for ATV2, but my iPad and iPhone will not play sound on certain movies when they are being played through homeshare.

    Oops I hope that didn't hijack your thread : /
     
  10. cwazytech thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Location:
    Colorado
    #10
    As usual, Dynaflash has come to the rescue. So far, the nightly build appears to be working well. Thanks.
     
  11. cwazytech thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Location:
    Colorado
    #11
    Update = :(

    Well, the Handbrake Nightlies worked for a short bit. I'm still having an issue and I've tried 3 different versions. For now, I'll have to go back to 0.9.4. The only problem is that 0.9.4 can't handle my workaround for foreign language subtitles. I did, however, find a similar thread on the HB forums, but they're solution was no help also. I'm really surprised no one else is experiencing this. Check your HD Blu-Ray rips people. I can't be the only one.
     
  12. steve123 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    #12
    I had this problem too. My work around was to use Apple's compressor instead. In case you are interested, you can get it on the App Store now.
     
  13. cwazytech thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Location:
    Colorado
    #13
    Interesting. It handles mkv files ok? What about foreign language subtitles? Does it produce files as good as Handbrake? If you can't tell, I'm really unfamiliar with Compressor.
     

Share This Page