HBO NOW Skipping Frames

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by msh, Jan 16, 2016.

  1. msh macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Location:
    SoCal
    #1
    How come HBO NOW skips frames on every video but no other source does? It can't be my equipment (ATV 3, Verizon FIOS 75/75 Mbps, ethernet to ATV. All the other HD apps on ATV 3 I have tried - ATV movies, PBS - work flawlessly.
     
  2. benjitek macrumors 6502a

    benjitek

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2012
    #2
    HBO-Now works flawlessly without skipping frames on my ATV4 connected via WiFi with Verizon FiOS 50/50.
     
  3. msh thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Location:
    SoCal
    #3
    Well that's good to know but before I rush out and buy an ATV4, I want to know if its possible to run HBO NOW flawlessly on ATV3 or does it require more robust hardware.
     
  4. d21mike macrumors 68040

    d21mike

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Location:
    Torrance, CA
    #4
    I am all in on ATV 4 now but when I watched GOT last season on my ATV 3 I do not remember any dropping of frames. My set is identical to yours. I don't watch a lot on HBO now but I am not having any problems when I do. The interface is a lot different on the ATV 4 as well.
     
  5. msh thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Location:
    SoCal
    #5
    With a few suggestions from HBO Tech Support it is better now. They had me complete linking HBO to ATV and restarting ATV. Apparently, subscribing directly through ATV doesn't link HBO to ATV or create an account with HBO. Anyway I just watched Game of Thrones and it played without issues; Real Time with Bill Maher was better as well although every so often there was a little twitch. This I can live with.
     
  6. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #6
    I am having the same problem, but it is inconsistent. Sometimes it looks perfect and sometimes it skips frames. If it is perfect, it will be perfect for the whole night. If it is skipping, it will skip the whole night. Force-closing the app does not fix the problem. Rebooting the ATV does fix the problem.

    I seriously doubt it is a bandwidth issue. Everything is wired Ethernet and I have fiber Internet.

    I don't know what you mean by "link" HBO with ATV. I downloaded the HBO Now app and entered by HBO Now login and password. I assume you must have done that too originally, in order to see content in the first place, so what did you do beyond that to "link" these things?
     
  7. mellofello macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    #7
    I can't speak for atv 4 but HBO go picture quality is consistently garbage on my atv 3. It certainly is not nearly 1080p and is probably somewhere just above 480p for me.

    I have it hard wired cat 6 directly to a fast fiber internet connection, that will send Netflix to 4K in seconds.

    It is so bad that I cannot even watch big movies streaming because it looks like I am watching a Chinese bootleg.

    They really need to step their game up if they want $14 per month. The torrents from broadcast look much better then the streams.

    Every other service is the opposite. Watching shows on the fox app for instance are in beautiful 1080p quality that beat any cable box.
     
  8. mattopotamus macrumors G5

    mattopotamus

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    #8
    somewhat related: Showtime is the absolute worse. Their app is garbage.
     
  9. msh thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Location:
    SoCal
    #9
    Agree. It certainly doesn't look like 1080p to me and it still exhibits some stuttering and motion artifacts on most material.

    And what's with being unable to live stream certain shows like Real Time with Bill Maher? It takes them 9 hours to post it which means watching it on Saturday night instead of Friday. Are they telling us they don't have the technology in 2016 to live stream this? Really HBO?
     
  10. mellofello macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    #10
    Yeah they are really resting on their laurels. I pay my moms cable bill, and she needs her game of thrones, otherwise I would have canceled long ago.
     
  11. mic j macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2012
    #11
    I was watching GOT last night. Skipping frames and compression artifacts were really bad. It's always showed some compression artifacts, which I just always thought were part of the deal. I have plenty of bandwidth. Glad I ran across this thread. Will restart the aTV and see what happens.
     

Share This Page