HD 7970 in my mac pro

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Irvingoh999, Dec 17, 2016.

  1. Irvingoh999 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2016
    #1
    Currently,im using the stock HD 5770 which can only support up to 2560x1440 but i want to be able to get at least 4k on it.Also,ideally i would want to be able to output 6 monitors at 1080p.

    The MSI R7970 LIGHTNING would be an excellent choice to get 6 monitors running and be able to run a monitor at 4k so i hope to use this card.

    https://www.msi.com/Graphics-card/R7970_Lightning.html#hero-overview>>>Link to the card i plan on using.

    Has anyone had any success with this exact card?or a card that is similar with 4 mini displayports?

    Also i plan on flashing the R7970 but am not very sure on the procedure.Is there a step by step instruction page that will walkthrough on how to flash the card?
     
  2. Fl0r!an macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    #2
  3. Irvingoh999 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2016
    #3
    Is there a generic efi rom that has a chance at getting my specific HD 7970 to work?
     
  4. Fl0r!an macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    #4
    The generic one (from "7xxx testing thread" @ netkas.org) will definitely disable most ports on that card. Your best bet is the thread I've linked.
     
  5. 666sheep macrumors 68040

    666sheep

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #5
    As Fl0r!an said – nope. You'll lose one DVI and 2 mDPs.
    Easiest way to try 6 displays from this card is to run it unflashed.
    Framebuffer set in the "generic" EFI isn't able to output more than 4.
     
  6. Irvingoh999 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2016
    #6
    So its impossible to have flash the HD 7970 and still have 6 display outputs?
     
  7. Fl0r!an macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    #7
    Why don't you just look into the mentioned thread? The information on a similar HD 7970 Eyefinity model should be around page 5 or 6.
     
  8. Irvingoh999 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2016
    #8
    I shall look through it a few times.So far i cant understand whats happening at all in that thread.Hahaha im a real noob and its gonna take awhile to learn what is happening in the mapping thread.Could you simplify it so that even an average joe could understand whats happening?
     
  9. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #9
    Sorry, there is no short cut, you have to study it, understand what's happening, and do your own work (still require try by error) to make it work. otherwise, keep it simple, accept what you have now.
     
  10. Fl0r!an macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    #10
    Start reading at this post: http://forum.netkas.org/index.php/topic,10827.msg31178.html#msg31178

    What you need to do now:
    1. Understand how to attach the EFI in that thread (RFB.efi) to your ROM (cross-flashing a mismatched ROM will most likely produce a brick).
    2. Flash it to your GPU
    3. Find out if any ports provide a boot screen. Legacy connections (DVI or passive adapters on DP) are most likely to work.
    Sadly can't make it easier than that without coming to your house and doing it myself.
     
  11. Irvingoh999 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2016
    #11
    sadly i cant really understand it yet but will continue to read about it. Should i just get a reference 7970 and flash that one?will all the 5 outputs be able to output video at once?that way i will be able to get at least 4 screens?
     
  12. Fl0r!an macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    #12
    The reference HD 7970 has 4 outputs and all of them should work at the same time. Some cards will loose HDMI functionality after flashing though, limiting you to 3 screens.

    Btw, the guy in the thread claimed to have all 6 outputs working and also boot screens, but I'm not sure about the connection type he used.

    Another option might be getting a pair of HD 7870's, should be possible to run them on internal power. They can power up to 4 displays each. Only drawback: Bootscreens are only possible on DVI.
     

Share This Page