HD Camcorder and FCE

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by Nicolasdec, Jun 18, 2007.

  1. Nicolasdec macrumors 65816

    Nicolasdec

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    Location:
    São Paulo
    #1
    So today i bought FCE to use with my JVC Hard Drive High Definition Camcorder (GZ-HD7) It records to .TOD and .MOI files, I can play the .TOD on Quicktime and on Imovie (with works great with everything) but i cant seem to get it to work with FCE when i import the video it says "unknown File". with the camera a CD came that installs the components to play the video in quicktime. what should i Do?????
     
  2. Nicolasdec thread starter macrumors 65816

    Nicolasdec

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    Location:
    São Paulo
  3. ppc_michael Guest

    ppc_michael

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2005
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #3
    Hard drive camcorders are rarely compatible with Final Cut as-is. Google for MPEG Streamclip, a freeware program that may be able to convert your files to Quicktime format.
     
  4. Nicolasdec thread starter macrumors 65816

    Nicolasdec

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    Location:
    São Paulo
    #4
    MPEG streamclip dose not work with .TOD files, i can play and edit the the .TOD files in iMovie but not final cut express.
     
  5. diamond3 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    #5
    so maybe open it up in imovie and then export as a DV file. Then import that into FCE. It might be a temporary solution for now until someone can help you out more.
     
  6. Rod Rod macrumors 68020

    Rod Rod

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    #6
    Apple Intermediate Codec would be the way to go for FCE (3.5) if one wanted to maintain high-definition.
     
  7. theBB macrumors 68020

    theBB

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2006
  8. Nicolasdec thread starter macrumors 65816

    Nicolasdec

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    Location:
    São Paulo
    #8
    were would i find some info about that?
     
  9. Nicolasdec thread starter macrumors 65816

    Nicolasdec

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    Location:
    São Paulo
    #9
  10. Rod Rod macrumors 68020

    Rod Rod

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    #10
    The link which theBB just provided has the info. Thanks!

    (edit: 2 minutes too late)
     
  11. Nicolasdec thread starter macrumors 65816

    Nicolasdec

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    Location:
    São Paulo
    #11
    Oh yeh, thanks. so i downloaded this now were do i put the files?
     
  12. Rod Rod macrumors 68020

    Rod Rod

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    #12
    My best guess is ~/Library/Application Support/Final Cut Pro System Support/Custom Settings ... but that would be for FCP. I don't have FCE but it might be similar.
     
  13. Nicolasdec thread starter macrumors 65816

    Nicolasdec

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    Location:
    São Paulo
    #13
    Cool, thanks. :) :) :) :) :)
     
  14. Rod Rod macrumors 68020

    Rod Rod

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    #14
    You're welcome. Let me know if it works. You're like a pioneer.
     
  15. Nicolasdec thread starter macrumors 65816

    Nicolasdec

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    Location:
    São Paulo
    #16
  16. Rod Rod macrumors 68020

    Rod Rod

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    #17
    Sweet! That means Brian Chen of MacWorld was mistaken about the GZ-HD7.
     
  17. Nicolasdec thread starter macrumors 65816

    Nicolasdec

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    Location:
    São Paulo
    #18
  18. tranceporting macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    #19
    I have the same problem, instead of .TOD , i have the file .MOD from my JC HDD camera, and my Mac won't read it. Any suggestions?

    Thanks
     
  19. Nicolasdec thread starter macrumors 65816

    Nicolasdec

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    Location:
    São Paulo
    #20
    The .MOD files dont seem to work with the mac only the .TOD.
     
  20. Rod Rod macrumors 68020

    Rod Rod

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    #21
    Did you try opening the .MOD files in MPEG Streamclip?
     
  21. Nicolasdec thread starter macrumors 65816

    Nicolasdec

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    Location:
    São Paulo
    #22
    The .MOD files dont work work with MPEG sreamclip.
     
  22. Rod Rod macrumors 68020

    Rod Rod

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    #23
    Is that the case even if you rename the .MOD files to .MPG, and then run them through MPEG Streamclip?
     

Share This Page