HD Clicking, over heating, connecting to network

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by SKINSnCANES, Mar 31, 2008.

  1. SKINSnCANES macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    #1
    I normally dont like to start a new thread, but I didnt hear any responces when I typed this in another thread. Thanks for the help!

    Ok, couple things.

    I exchanged the MBA that I bought last week because after the second day the hard drive started making constant loud clicking noises and I wasnt running any programs. It annoyed the hell out of me.

    I had a week 11, now I have a week 9.

    Two problems, first, my week 11 didnt get hot at all. While it being on my lap it was at 35-40C, fan never turned on. Now Im sitting here, all Im doing is typing on this forum, and its at 70 C and the fan has run at 6200 the entire time... I dont know if this is normal, or if my other one was just an exception, but odds are I will return this one as well...

    Second problem, based on the advice I received in this thread, I went to reinstall the OS on this one, I went to my iMac and created a network. But that network is never available to select, nor can you search for it when you try to do a fresh install. When I boot the computer normally, I can use the network I created and view my iMac, but I cant connect to it when you hold option and try to reinstall.

    I bought my iMac and Air to a friends for the weekend but now I cant install the OS...I dont have a router and using a neighbors would take a day to install (trust me, at my dads it took 18 hours to reinstall the OS over his network...)
     
  2. SKINSnCANES thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    #2
    someones gotta know how to help!!!! I only have a few days left of my 14 day return policy, i want to keep it but I want to make sure I dont have a defective one
     
  3. SKINSnCANES thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    #3
    Im reinstalling the OS now, using my Airport express and my new iMax, all use 802.11N...its been over an hour and still on "calculating time"...I dont know how people are seeing such fast results installing remotely in less than an hour, less than 10 hours for that matter...
     
  4. aristobrat macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    #4
    I just got my 1.6/80 MBA this morning, week 10.

    I was able to reinstall the OS over an ad-hoc 802.11n network in about an hour. I'm not sure why yours would be taking so much longer.

    Are you using iStat Nano to guage how hot your CPU is and how fast the fans are running? If so, click on the Processes area and see what's going on to make your MBA so hot.

    When Spotlight (mds) was running for the first time after I reinstalled the OS, my Air's CPU got plenty hot, and the fans stayed at 6200 until the bottom of the Air's case cooled down.

    If your Air is staying that hot without anything using the CPU, then I'd def. take it back.
     
  5. SKINSnCANES thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    #5
    Ive installed the OS four times now, on 3 different networks and it always takes forever. my only common denominator is the iMac....

    Using remote disc on the iMac to install iWork I didtn have any problems though.
     
  6. ayeying macrumors 601

    ayeying

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Location:
    Yay Area, CA
    #6
    bring it in and tell them its not working properly. Sinec you're within your return period, just let apple deal with it.
     
  7. SKINSnCANES thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    #7
    ive had two of them and both the did same thing...odds are that they both wernt bad. maybe its my imac...but interent always works without a problem on that...dunno...
     

Share This Page