HD config...?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Soop53, Mar 7, 2008.

  1. Soop53 macrumors regular

    Soop53

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Location:
    Ohio
    #1
    I know...I know, I could try to do a search to see what others are doing but give an ol boy a break. I need advice...I have 2 F1 750s (just arrived), XP 64, and Fusion software setting in front of me. I also have the stock 320 HD already in my beast. What would be the best set up using all three HDs and loading XP/Fusion.

    My thoughts...

    1. Stay with 320 as start up (seagate)
    2. 1 750 for XP
    3. 1 750 for time machine

    Thoughts...
     
  2. brand macrumors 601

    brand

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #2
    Why would you choose to use the much larger drive for Windows and a drive less than half that size for OS X? The only reason for this I can think of is you primarily use Windows?

    My Vote
    --------
    750GB OS X
    750GB Time Machine
    320 Windows XP
     
  3. Soop53 thread starter macrumors regular

    Soop53

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Location:
    Ohio
    #3
    Ya know that was stupid. You are right. Thanks for the advice.:eek:
     
  4. Mastershredder macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2006
  5. Soop53 thread starter macrumors regular

    Soop53

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Location:
    Ohio
    #5
    Speaking of which, with CCC I can copy may 320 drive to one of my 750s? Secondly, after I do that, should I erase everything off the 320 to have a clean drive for my XP? As you can see, I am new at this?
     
  6. Soop53 thread starter macrumors regular

    Soop53

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Location:
    Ohio
    #6
    Okay, I just installed my 2 F1 750s. I carbon copy cloned one from my original 320 HD. I have the cloned F1 750 in Bay 1 as my start up disk. I have the second F1 750 in Bay 2 and the 320 in Bay 3.

    I restarted the Pro and WOW!!! I really do see a faster boot time. Everything opens so much faster using the F1 as my main drive.:D

    Thanks to all for your advice and using CCC...very simple. Actually, I am amazed at how simple and fast it was to install my new hard drives. Using CCC was also very simple and fast.:)

    Now, on to setting up the 320 for windows using Fusion. Cross my fingers!!!
     

Share This Page