HD failing in 2006 Mac Pro?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Clix Pix, Jun 6, 2008.

  1. Clix Pix macrumors demi-goddess

    Clix Pix

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2005
    Location:
    8 miles from the Apple Store at Tysons (VA)
    #1
    The primary HD, 500 GB, boot drive, seems to be acting flaky and I am wondering if it's about to give out on me. When I booted up the machine earlier today I got the infamous flashing folder with the question mark. Shut down, tried again and the machine booted up normally. I went ahead and downloaded and installed the update to OS 10.5 and once again when the machine tried to reboot I got the flashing folder/question mark. Uh-oh.... Machine booted up normally the next time, and I immediately began copying files over to an external HD. That process is finished and now I'm ready to attack the problem before it becomes a worse one.

    The machine has 4 500 GB HDs in it and I am thinking that maybe it would be a good idea to shift things around and use one of the other internal HDs as the primary drive (as well as replacing this one with a new, larger capacity HD). I've never done this before, but I think I need to install and use either Carbon Copy Cloner or SuperDuper in order to make a clone (including boot processes) of my current primary drive. Is it possible to do it without using one of these? Which software is the better choice if I decide to go that route?

    Should I run Disk Utility first to see if I can determine what's going on with this drive? I'd rather not wipe the drive if that can be avoided.

    Some nice, clear step-by-step instructions would be gratefully accepted!

    Thanks!
     
  2. Julien macrumors G3

    Julien

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #2
    If you have an extra 500GB HD I would download CC then make a clone (easy as pie). You have doubts about your HD so why worry?

    Why or how can you even work on a machine that doesn't have a backup? Total HD failures can happen in the blink of an eye and all data would be lost. HD are notoriously dangers since that are mechanical.
     
  3. Infrared macrumors 68000

    Infrared

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    #3
    *carefully avoids blinking*
     
  4. Clix Pix thread starter macrumors demi-goddess

    Clix Pix

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2005
    Location:
    8 miles from the Apple Store at Tysons (VA)
    #4
    My Mac Pro is used primarily for digital image processing and in the normal course of events I back up images after uploading then and editing them; just before leaving for a week-long trip I shot a lot of images and barely had time to upload them to the machine before needing to prepare for the trip, so didn't back them up just then. Because I use Aperture for editing and because for a while there were problems with Aperture and Time Machine, I didn't set up TM to back up that computer. Today the minute I suspected problems I quickly plugged in an external HD and copied all the images to it so that at least now if the HD decides to flake out on me I'm covered.

    I think that yes, the best solution is to use either Carbon Copy Cloner or SuperDuper and make a clone of that particular HD and then I will have peace of mind....

    Thanks!
     

Share This Page