HD failure and Remote disk problem

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by aminman15, Nov 9, 2009.

  1. aminman15 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    #1
    Ive had my mba for a year and a couple months now, never had any problems with it.. Its been fantastic for my studies and no 720p issues at all.. and i love it..


    Sadley my mba's hd failed on me last night. I get a grey screen with a question mark flashing.. I have tried just about every thing from pressing Power button + C, PB + option, PB + Command + Option + P + R.. But all with the same result.. I am a student and just when i need it the most im finding it very difficult to find money for repairs

    I found out this morning that it cannot find disk kernal.. What is that? And how can i go about resolving it?

    I then thought to reinstall os x or rapair disk via remote install.. My problem is when i restart my mac holding down the Option Key.. I get a list of networks via airport but never my own network, it is not picking it up.. Ive tried it with several other computer but no luck! Can someone please help me solve this Airport issue, or the finding kernals issue! thank you

    And if anyone experienced the same problem and overcame it please tell me what you had to do
     
  2. aminman15 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    #2
    HD and remote disk

    Can someone please help me
     
  3. slapguts macrumors 6502a

    slapguts

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    #3
    Do you have, or can borrow, an external USB drive?

    Do you have the USD-ethernet dongle?

    Any way to temporarily drop the security on your network?
     
  4. aminman15 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    #4
    reply

    thanx for replying.

    I dont own a usb drive or an ethernet dongle, and dont think i can burrow. As sad as it sounds I only know one mac user. But if purchase either of the two, will it definetly connect ?

    I should be able to drop the security on the network as its running of a hub connected to my main computer (hp), running on vista.. will it help if i drop the security? Cuz the weird thing is ive never had trouble pickin up on the network with any of my three laptops. I just dont understand. It just asks for a password. Thistime it will pick up the neighbors but just not mine.
     
  5. slapguts macrumors 6502a

    slapguts

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    #5
    Not sure if dropping the security would help or not, but it won't cost you anything, at least.

    Just about any USB external optical drive should be enough to run disk utility from. Even if you have to return it afterwards.

    Give it a couple hours, I'm sure someone who knows much more about this stuff than me will come along shortly.
     
  6. aminman15 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    #6
    Ill definetly try that.

    It was nice of you to come by and offer your help.. Thanks :eek:
     
  7. LinMac macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    #7
    Is your screen showing a folder with a question mark inside of it?

    That is what my Macbook Air did when my RunCore SSD wasn't recognized meaning it couldn't locate a drive.

    Also, is your Macbook Air still under warranty?
     
  8. aminman15 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    #8
    My hd is the samsung HS082HB/A

    But thats exactly what's appearing on the screen. Im pretty down because my warranty is out. and i know it will cost a bomb...

    How did you work round yours?
     
  9. aminman15 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    #9
    Ive been advised by a close friend to just replace the hd.. And so i did.. after i replace it what do i do next? and anytips or things i should make sure are done before installing?

    any help will be gratefull guys
     
  10. sanford macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Location:
    Dallas, USA
    #10
    Just do a remote install. If you can't see your network you may need to reset the SMC or whatever they call it. My MBA lost track of its Airport bit one time and resetting the SMC fixed it in a jiff.

    For future reference of all: I was getting some weird HDD noises from my Air about 10 months ago. Nothing has ever happened, and I use it constantly, so it's probably just the drive spinning up and down, engaging and disengaging the head-locking mechanism -- some drives are just noisier than others; I had a 3G iPod make these sorts of noises and it's still going strong these many years later and fairly roughed up by my kids I've handed it off ot -- or a really slow fail that may never happen before I upgrade the whole Mac. But at the time I'd just let warranty lapse and was somewhat concerned. So I called and checked about an HDD repair, to be prepared. An Air HDD replace at an Apple Store, same-day or at worst next-day bench service, is only $200 at the absolute very most, I was told w/ surety; and that was 10 months ago.
     

Share This Page