HD for new 24" iMac - Which one?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by imacdaddy, Aug 24, 2007.

  1. imacdaddy macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2006
    #1
    Can't decide on which HD option to choose. Base 500GB, 750GB or 1TB?

    I already have an external LaCie 500GB Big Disk Extreme and is half empty and I've got about 25% space left in my iMac (250GB)

    1) Will the 1TB add extra heat?

    2) Should I do a DIY to the 750GB/1TB? But I don't see any 1TB SATA drives right now.

    3) Is Apple offering a good deal on these HD options? +$150 for 750GB or +$450 for the 1TB

    I'm concerned about the heat from a 1TB HD inside such a small enclosure and the value of the options, whether a DIY is a better option.
     
  2. jesteraver macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    #2
    Best thing is, get the 320 gb one. The money you save you can make a DYI external one, which would be better. I have been plagued with bad hard drives with Apple before, it is not fun losing everything.
     
  3. HLdan macrumors 603

    HLdan

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    #3
    I just ordered the new iMac and was in the same boat as the OP. Today's software and movie downloads need an abundance of hard drive space so I decided to up the hard drive to the 500GB and buy myself a LaCie 500GB external. I don't think the 320 is really that much space anymore. Doing the algorithm shows that the 320GB is actually 312GB and that's without any software or OS installed.
     
  4. l33r0y macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    #4
    Why would it be better?

    It would make more sense to me to have as much storage on the quicker bus (i.e. SATA) as opposed to any external bus, even FW800 is slow compared with SATA300....
     
  5. jesteraver macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    #5
    with my old imac, i have to replace the hard drive 4x in 3 years.
     
  6. RRK macrumors 6502

    RRK

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2007
    Location:
    USA/Ohio/Columbus
    #6
    If you get the 2.8ghz version then I think $150 is worth it to go to 750gb.
     
  7. imacdaddy thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2006
    #7
    Thanks everyone for your great feedback! :)

    I think I'm going to wait and see if there's any heat issues with the 1TB in the iMacs.

    But I think I'm going to lean towards the +$150 for the 750GB option. It's a reasonably priced upgrade, I think. Also, 1TB is not very common on a personal desktop computer. I rather have several 500GB than 1 x 1TB HD...1 DH failure with all data loss or 1 HD failure with some data loss?
     
  8. HLdan macrumors 603

    HLdan

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    #8
    Seriously though, with all the constant talk about heat on the forums what issues have your really heard about aside from the fact all computers get hot? No one has ever posted a "legitimate" issue where there was a meltdown on the computer components due to excessive heat from the computer.

    Apple would not offer the 1TB option if there would be heat issues. Get past your heat concerns and buy you really want. I don't think it's fair to wait for someone else to be the guinea pig to ease your concerns.
     
  9. AlexisV macrumors 68000

    AlexisV

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #9
    Gordon Bennett.

    Heat this, heat that.

    Since when have you heard somebody concerned that a 1.8 car engine might produce too much heat and buy the 1.6 instead.
     
  10. imacdaddy thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2006
    #10
    A meltdown, no. Electrical components malfunctioning due to excessive heat, yes. It is known that desktop 1TB HD runs hot. We don't know if Apple is putting in a 1TB HD with 5-platters or with 4-platters in the "thinner" iMac enclosure. These desktop 1TB are still 1st gen and there have been some reported drive failures. My iMac 5G runs hot (CPU/GPU @ 66 deg and 250GB Maxtor @ 55 deg) on idle and up to 80 and 65 deg when I do video encoding. That's why I'm a little concerned about the heat inside a tight enclosure where heat can dissipate through other electrical components. Although, the iMac body does have aluminum casing...

    Heat is my concern because of where I live. In this side of the World, heat and humidity affects electrical appliances. I need to turn the aircon on in my study because my current iMac emits so much heat. If the 1TB produces more, then I will go for the other options. I'm sorry, but I wasn't waiting for anyone to be the guinea pig to ease my concerns. I'm just waiting for a review...like everyone else. Don't you read reviews of consumer products before you buy (phone, computers, GPU, game consoles, music, movie, etc...)??? ;)

    Benny Hill.

    "Those hot pants of hers were so damned tight, I could hardly breathe." :D
     
  11. mjs975s Suspended

    mjs975s

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Location:
    NYC
    #11
    I got the 320GB but purchased a Hitachi 1TB for $379 to replace it once the iMac gets here. Also, goT the 1GB memory but purchased 4GB for $204 to replace the stock ram. I'll sell the stock HD and RAM and it will have only cost me a couple hundred to upgrade to the top configuration. :D
     
  12. Hopstretch macrumors regular

    Hopstretch

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2006
    #12
    You do know that the iMac HDs are not user replaceable, right? At least not without a lot of effort and the voiding of your warranty.
     
  13. powerbook911 macrumors 68040

    powerbook911

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    #13
    I got the 20-inch, so I got the stock 320 GB. Fine for me for the timing being. I have Firewire 800 500 GB drive too, and I honestly can't notice a difference, when using it.
     
  14. mjs975s Suspended

    mjs975s

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Location:
    NYC
    #14
    Actually, on the 24" model it should be because it was on the last one. The back panel of the 24" model was/should be removable to accomodate the VESA mounting options; however, if it's not the local Apple Service Provider only charges $60 to install the new HD. Still TONS cheaper than buying it as an option from Apple.
     
  15. Jeff Flowerday macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    Location:
    Calgary, AB
    #15
    I'd go with the 320 and upgrade to the 1TB after. Same with the ram.
     
  16. Tom Sawyer macrumors 6502a

    Tom Sawyer

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    #16
    Yeah... that's the way I went... ordered the standard config 24" 2.4 and will upgrade with cheap components...

    Can anyone comment on how difficult (or not) the machine is to pop open to upgrade components? I'll have it on Friday so just curious what I'm in for. No worries, I've built more PC's than I can even remember but always nice to know if there are any 'gotchas' to watch out for...

    TIA.... :)
     
  17. iCanuck macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    #17
    There were some pictures from a japanese site not long after the aluminum iMacs were released that showed how to take it apart. It does not look like its something the average user would be able to do (other than the 1 screw for the ram door, of course).

    I'll see if I can find the link again...



    EDIT: Heres the link from the macrumors news post: http://www.kodawarisan.com/k2007_02/archives/2007/08/aaaaaaaaaaaaaaa_3.html
     
  18. Tom Sawyer macrumors 6502a

    Tom Sawyer

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    #18
    Wow... now that's a disassemble! I wonder if it's neceassary to go that far with it just to chance the HD? I understand there is a hatch for memory so that's easy. You would think the back would come off somehow and allow access to the HD cage, etc. I think the back has to come off to install a VESA mount for articulating arms/mounts etc....

    Well, 1 more day and I'll know... can't wait!! :D

     

Share This Page