HD is missing name

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Zeeinnm, Jan 27, 2011.

  1. Zeeinnm macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    #1
    My cats have been sitting on my keyboard. Now my HD icon on the top right shows no name. I also had a problem with the name on my back-up, external drive. I'll worry about that on later.
    My Imac is working fine but I am a little concerned.
     
  2. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #2
    You can change it to have a name by right clicking on the HDD icon on the Desktop and selecting GET INFO and change it there under the Name section to whatever you want.
    I don't know what you mean with the external back up HDD though.



    Helpful Information for Any Mac User by GGJstudios
     
  3. Zeeinnm thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    #3
    What should the name of my HD be?

    On the external, used only for Time Machine, when I went to try Time Machine, it froze my system so I had to disconnect it. I figure I will have to reformat that one.
     
  4. Zeeinnm thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    #4
    Opps, it looks like I need to know what extension it should have too. That may be where I went wrong trying to correct the name on the external.
     
  5. RuggedPro macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    #5
    Nuke the cats from space. It's the only way to be sure... :D
     
  6. DanielCoffey macrumors 65816

    DanielCoffey

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    Location:
    Edinburgh, UK
    #6
    The name on your internal HDD is normally "Macintosh HD" - don't know about the extension, the checkbox is greyed for me.
     

Share This Page