hd problem

Discussion in 'iMac' started by raben1, Feb 9, 2014.

  1. raben1 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2014
    #1
    I have just had a new 500gb hd installed downloaded a few pieces of software but when I tee to download printshop for mac (470mb)I get a message saying not enough space on hd:confused:,any help would grateful.
    Regards
     
  2. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #2
    Do you have Time Machine turned on? That uses some space for local snapshots. OS X is supposed to manage that space on its own, but it sometimes does not. Try turning Time Machine off then back on to delete the local snapshots and then see how much space you have free and it you can install the app.
     
  3. raben1 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2014
    #3
    Thanks for replying Weaselboy.Checked every thing out also downloaded lots of software this afternoon from the apps I purchased previously without any problems,at present I have a samsung 500gb external disk connected for backups. If I go into apple about this mac, more info and then about this mac it is showing Mac hd 479.88gb available and samsung 479.15 gb available, and with the printshop disc in place it shows printshop install cd 681mb.
     
  4. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #4
    So are you now able to install the app?

    Did you try turning Time Machine off then back on?
     
  5. raben1 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2014
    #5
    tried what you said but am still in the same boat same not enough space on hd,I have noticed one thing if I look in apple system preferences there is an icon showing a hd with a question mark on it and underneath it the words start up disc.Don't know if this has any bearing on the problem
    Regards
     
  6. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #6
    If you mean this icon in System Prefs... that is normal.

    [​IMG]

    Go to About this Mac and More Info then the storage tab like below and tell me what you see.

    [​IMG]
     
  7. raben1 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2014
  8. raben1 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2014
    #8
    I don't see that coloured bar I see this
    macintosh hd available capacity mount point file system
    478.88gb 499.25gb journaled HFS+
    samsung 478.43 499.75 case-sensetive journaled HFS+





    Available: 478.41 GB (478,409,961,472 bytes)
    Capacity: 499.25 GB (499,248,103,424 bytes)
    Mount Point: /
    File System: Journaled HFS+
    Writable: Yes
    Ignore Ownership: No
    BSD Name: disk0s2
    Volume UUID: 17F330D6-100D-33E5-A1EC-A61C5E02457F
    Physical Drive:
    Media Name: ST3500418AS Media
    Medium Type: Rotational
    Protocol: SATA
    Internal: Yes
    Partition Map Type: GPT (GUID Partition Table)
    S.M.A.R.T. Status: Verified
     
  9. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #9
    Hmmm.... that looks like you have plenty of space. Can you install other apps, or is it just this one?

    Start Disk Utility then select your disk and do a verify disk. Does that show any errors?
     
  10. raben1 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2014
    #10
    No problems with disc I have already installed various pieces of software from the apps store (items I bought over the years )plus items from the internet.What I have found is that ps2 seems to have a problem with running on mavericks as Mackiev/broderbund have put out a free upgrade to ps2.1 but it seems that ps2 must be installed first,have sent an email to Mackiev asking for their advice and am awaiting a reply.
     

Share This Page